We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must for anyone visiting the Dells!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Valley Inn

Thunder Valley Inn
W15344 Waubeek Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-4145
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Ransomville, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A definite must for anyone visiting the Dells!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I can't think of anywhere else I would rather be than Thunder Valley for Sunday morning brunch. Great food, a little Norwegian music and a few Sven and Olie jokes will make anyone's visit a memorable one. My wife and I have eaten there periodically over the past 20 years, and we are always impressed! The Norwegian ambiance is fabulous, and must be experienced to gain a full appreciation of this part of mid-western culture.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Breakfast on the Farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Thunder Valley Inn is a great choice for Sunday breakfast. There is a nice homey atmosphere, and the women that work here are friendly and delightful. If you are visiting the Dells, there is a good chance that you have children - this place is perfect for families. We walked around the grounds where we saw a peacock, some goats, and a duck - this would be a thrill for little ones. Only about a mile from downtown Wisconsin Dells, too.
The buffet includes pancakes, french toast, sausage patties, ham slices, potatoes, scrambled eggs, peppers, corn on the cob, cinnamon rolls, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, fresh fruit, chocolate and almond cakes, cheddar cheese, goat cheese, strawberry rhubarb jam, cinnamon apples, and herring. All seemed like it was homemade, and very tasty. My favorite was the fresh bread - it was hidden under a napkin, so make sure that you find it!
The cost was $15, which is very reasonable for a smorgasbord.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantabulous Sunday brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am so jealous of the people who live in this area and get to have brunch here regularly. The Swedish Smorgasboard was completely full of delicious items. From different cheeses to homemade strawberry rhubarb jam, from the most amazing French toast to fresh sweet corn, it was one of the best brunches I've ever had. A must try!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A rare gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

( My full review is under the "hotels" section of Thunder Valley because I didn't see a restaurants button so visit that page for my full review ) But this place is amazing! It is charming, cute, inviting and has home-made meals to die for! Come on a Sunday morning for their smorgasbord! It is awesome! They have a wide variety of foods to pick from, and even have a farmers market! (Sundays only) It's a must eat!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POLO
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Swedish Smorgasbord”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

How often do you see goat cheese and pickled herring on a breakfast buffet? Great homemade cinnamon rolls, too, and fresh rhubarb sauce!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Valley Inn also viewed

 

Been to Thunder Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunder Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.