We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home-style food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
1295 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy S, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53913
608-253-6777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great home-style food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped in for lunch. We had a delicious lunch and the service was excellent. My husband said the country fried steak was the best he had ever had, and I love the meatloaf. Everyone needs to try an apple-dumpling off of the desert menu. We will visit again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    48
    28
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had dinner at the Cracker Barrel for the first time. I had the Chicken & Dumplings and thought it was great. My family shared an order of the Apple Pie dessert and it was amazing!! Friendly staff and cozy atmosphere make it a good bet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Never Disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My wife had not been to a Cracker Barrel before and had heard a lot about them from her parents. We made a special effort to have breakfast there before our trip was over.
She was not disappointed. We were met at the door and guided to the restaurant. We were seated quickly, our waitress was at the table quickly and got our beverage order while we looked at the menu. She was very helpful explaining the food choices.
The portion sizes and quality of the food at Cracker Barrel were great. I am a breakfast person and I will definitely go there again when I visit Wisconsin Dells. We do not have any Cracker Barrel restaurants near us in Northwestern Wisconsin, unfortunately.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Country breakfast at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

My kids love this place! It's a great atmosphere and the food is always good. The gift shop had many unique items. Our waitress was nice.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always fun to visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The food at a Cracker Barrel is always consistently ok. Nothing fantastic but not a bad imitation of "down home" kind of cooking. The prices are very good. The dining area is a lot of fun, especially when it is cold and they fire up the big fireplace. Staff at this location was friendly. As always, the "country store" is a blast to walk through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.