We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taste Of New Orleans

Taste Of New Orleans
452 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1507
608-254-2020
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great food and amazing service! Our server mike was an absolute blast. Made our girls weekend that much more fun!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    70
    44
    34
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant had fantastic decor that made you feel like you were down south. Our server (Mike) was great. He was very friendly and patient and made some great suggestions for us. We ordered a catfish platter which was AMAZING. I have never had catfish that tasted that good. It was light and tasty, not greasy. It came paired with some midly spicy potatoes, which were also good. We ordered the lobster bisque as an appetizer which was absolutely delicious. I would suggest not missing the soup! However, we also decied to try the aligator bites, which were disaapointing at best. They were overly breaded and that was probably a good idea because the aligator meat, when removed from the breading was tough and tasted poorly. I would recommend skipping them, unless you want to try them just for the experience... Towards the end of the meal, the owner stopped over to see how our meal was. He had a light cajun accent, which spoke to the authenticity of the food. We both enjoyed our meal and would recommend it to others.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Love it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The owners are the most down home country folk that you will find and the service is great! The bignets were fantastic and the po'boys were delicious.. You have to try the seafood gumbo. It is spicy and has plenty of seafood in there.

Must go there for use.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best food in 3 weekends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in the Dells 3 weekends in the past year & decided to try The Taste of New Orleans for something different. The Catfish Sambo was really good. My husband even liked it and he doesn't eat fish. I thought the gumbo was the best I've ever had. When i go back, I'll get the bowl versus the cup. The batter on the fried items is more panko style, so it is much lighter and not at all doughy like other Midwestern deep fry batter. It didn't feel heavy. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Bayou North”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

If you love sea food you'll love the Taste of New Orleans. Owner and head Chef Sam prepares many different specials.If you want to hear a good joke ask Sam he'll keep you in stitches.And just like down on the Bayou , when you leave there you feel like you just left home and family. The place is always neat and clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste Of New Orleans also viewed

 

Been to Taste Of New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taste Of New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.