We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Denny's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dennys Diner

Dennys Diner
2 Monroe St, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53940
(608) 254-7647
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Real Denny's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not to be confused with the chain. The first name of the Owner of this place is Denny. Upon entering the place you just start smiling. Many many nostalgic glimpses of the past from different eras gone by. Service was very good on this day. Three separate checks (no problem). Food is normal to good for the price paid. A note of warning ahead of time - THIS PLACE DOES NOT TAKE CREDIT CARDS - CASH ONLY! Other than that small downer, I recommend the locally owned breakfast diner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    24
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were planning to go to Paul Bunyan's, but they were closed for the season. So, we tried Dennys Diner instead. They were out of cinnamon rolls, so I tried the caramel pecan roll. YUM! It was. Excellent, totally homemade. We saw someone else eating the cinnamon roll. It looked awesome. Will try that next time. The hash towns had an excellent crunch and flavor, and the stuffed French toast was excellent! We will definitely go here again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I don't know how ANYONE could recommend this place at all!! This place is terrible! This place is filthy. There is dust and greasy dirt everywhere on their decor and all around the windows. Their chairs were greasy and grimmy. I had to cleaned my hands with a wipe after sitting down. The bathrooms.....you were afraid to touch anything because there was dirt and grim everywhere. In the ladies bathroom my feet were "slipping" a bit from all the dirt and grim. Also a large portion of the sink broke off. So instead of getting a replacement, they decided to CAULK and GLUE the broken pieces together! We are talking about the bowl of the sink here!! I am surprised that the health department has not closed this place down! Our table was sticky with a milk ring on it. I had to clean it off my self! The coffee was horrible. I think their creamer was bad because the coffee tasted "sour" after it was poured into the coffee.Our food was not good either. My husband had an omlette and it was all dried out. How can you screw up an omlette?! We had better food from McDonalds on the fly! This place just SUCKS! GO TO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!! The Chain Denny's was SO MUCH BETTER------GO THERE INSTEAD

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“you can't go wrong here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is the Dennys on the corner, NOT the Dennys chain restaurants. This is the REAL thing and the food is exceptional. Its just hard to decide what to have! We always go for breakfast when were in the Dells. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is Denny's Diner, not the chain we all know. It is family oriented with trains in the air and just plain good food. We went for breakfast. Excellent.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dennys Diner also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Dennys Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dennys Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.