We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food--can't beat prices! Don't use the bathroom!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colotlan Mexican Restaurant

Colotlan Mexican Restaurant
324 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1505
608-254-8208
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 168 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food--can't beat prices! Don't use the bathroom!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Despite being right down town, tourists don't seem to frequent this joint. This was a cute little restaurant--just two guys working. The menu was extensive, and the prices were great. Service was very good and fast! The salsa was too watery and very hot, but everything else was delicious!! My husband used the men's room and said it was disgusting, unfortunately. Still would go back, definitely!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    6
    10
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Allis, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, Friendly Staff, Family Ran Establishment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a great LITTLE restaurant. Wonderful REAL mexican food. Quick friendly service. Cook came out to talk with us. Overall great place will visit again. Ordered steak tacos-excellent, very good rice and beans as wellt. I was shocked to learn they have been in the same location for many years and we never noticed them. Location is great but could use more advirtising and brighter signs outside. Small Gold MIne please visit for great Mexican Food.......Support the small family establishments...
From Senor Tequila Herradura of West Allis

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddville, IA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good, Authentic Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The food here is very good! Definitely authentic Mexican food. We enjoyed everything we ordered! We each tried a different entree, and no one was disappointed. The owner takes great pride in his family-run business, and it shows.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volo, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good / friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Really good, authentic food. Super nice staff. Would eat there again. Downtown and close to attractions.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

It wasn't the greatest. When you see it from outside it's a bit scary. The food was okay, but not the greatest. They had a little kid in the kitchen with them, and we had drunks siting by us and my dad absolutely hated it. We also had young children with. Wasn't a very good place for them. All in all, experience was poor.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colotlan Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colotlan Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colotlan Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.