We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, Authentic Mexican Fare” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colotlan Mexican Restaurant

Colotlan Mexican Restaurant
324 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1505
608-254-8208
Improve this listing
Ranked #98 of 168 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Toddville, IA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good, Authentic Mexican Fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The food here is very good! Definitely authentic Mexican food. We enjoyed everything we ordered! We each tried a different entree, and no one was disappointed. The owner takes great pride in his family-run business, and it shows.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

51% Recommend
    6
    10
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Volo, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very good / friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Really good, authentic food. Super nice staff. Would eat there again. Downtown and close to attractions.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Eh”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

It wasn't the greatest. When you see it from outside it's a bit scary. The food was okay, but not the greatest. They had a little kid in the kitchen with them, and we had drunks siting by us and my dad absolutely hated it. We also had young children with. Wasn't a very good place for them. All in all, experience was poor.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Real authentic mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

The atmosphere was not the best but the food made up for it! Service was average...wait staff spoke broken English. The serve the Mexican bottles of Coke...The refried beans and rice were great. If you are looking for authentic Mexican this is a great place to eat. Very casual. Varied menu. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

We were doing some shopping on Broadway and decided to stop in and try Colotlan. Our waitress was friendly however the atmostphere was terrible. One of the worker's children were there and the youngest child was screaming the whole time we were there and nothing was done to make the child mind. We both ordered tacos with rice/beans which was nothing special. The chips and salsa were decent, the salsa had a homemade taste. I ordered sour cream with my meal which our waitress forgot and took her 10 minutes to get. My husband and I couldn't wait to pay and get out of there because of the screaming child. We won't be going again!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colotlan Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colotlan Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colotlan Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.