We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 169 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Springfield, Nebraska, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Delicious Breakfast served family style and had dinner too. It was also wonderful and no more expensive and was actually a little cheaper than other places we ate. Kids loved it too!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    261
    184
    95
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

Stopped here on the way to the airport. Great place! One of those "All you can eat, lumber camp dinning halls". Had the lunch special, all you can eat ribs and fried chicken. Salad, mixed veggies, mashed potatoes and gravy AND dessert. All for under $20 a head! The lunch menu rotates daily. There is a menu to order from if you not in the mood for what is being served. Overall a great place for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Really fun for kids, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 NEW

This place is great for kids with its Paul Bunyan theme. My thoughts on the place is that there are two sides to every coin, PB's was a great visual but if you are hungry the place gets packed and the service gets slow but they keep feeding you until you have had enough. On the menu included Scrambled eggs, Home Made Doughnuts, Sausage and Ham, and Hash Browns. The gift shop is really great and if you are with little kids bring your wallet because they are going to want one of everything, sort of like a Cracker Barrel on steroids. All in all it was a good one time shot.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best breakfast in town! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

We stopped here for breakfast during our trip to the Dells and we were not disappointed! The doughnuts are to die for! You get a little bit of everything for breakfast. It'll please anyone, even the pickiest eater. Only downfall is you get small drink cups and you have to wait for the waiter to come and refill it ever so often.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good breakfast - family style”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 NEW

The food was good, served family style. They keep bringing food as long as you keep eating!! We had breakfast - biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes. About $11 per person. Had to pay $2 extra each for chocolate milk and ice tea. Thought that was weird. What I didn't like about it was we were a table of 4 next to another table of 4. I literally sat right next to a stranger. It was kinda awkward even though they were nice. I like to eat with my own party, not random people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.