We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Crystal, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in town for 2 days and ended up eating here twice! The food is delicious, the prices very reasonable, the service is great, and it's all you can eat! What more can you ask for? Seriously the food is fantastic and it is brought to you at the table, not buffet-style serve yourself. We had probably the nicest waiter ever (both days) a tall young man that I never spotted without a smile. If you want a table cloth meal with wimpy portions at a terrible price you can find plenty of places downtown but if you want awesome food, breakfast or dinner, at a great price, with a casual atmosphere then check this place out. I will definitely make it back next time I'm in the Dells or even if I'm just driving though on 90/94 I'll want to stop back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    216
    111
    49
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great time and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It is family style. The breakfast is is out of this world well maybe a little exagerated, but it is wonderful you get freshly made hot doughtnuts and scabbled eggs sauasge ham home style fried potatoes and it is all you can eat. It is very busy but you may have to wait in a line to get in but they have it down to a science they move you along and it is well worth the wait. I think the longest we had to wait in the line that goes out into the lot is maybe 1/2 hr and that is at the peak of the summer season. We also have gone for there all you can eat family styel dinner. also vary good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast, plenty of food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We traditionally end our weekend with the car club here on Sunday morning prior to all of us heading back to our respective states. This year was great they were very accomidating to our requests and there was a very short wait for 14 and we were seated at tables next to each other. The dougnuts are a must have everything else was great too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wont go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently ate there on 9/28/13. Food was cold. We ask for biscuits and gravy for a family of four they brought out 3 havles of a biscuit with very little gravy. When my husband ask for more she brought out two halves. The potatoes were so hard and cold they hurt my teeth. Doughnuts were the only good thing I had at this place. For $40.00 dollars for breakfast and all the suggestions on how great this place was from our friends. Very disappointed we will not go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

What a fun place to have breakfast. All you can eat and the food is very good. All in a cook shanty atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.