We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paul Bunyan shanty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 169 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Fredericksburg, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paul Bunyan shanty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Paul Bunyan cook shanty, if you like family style dining this is the only place to go. Had little bit of a wait but it was worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    293
    203
    106
    48
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Value In An Expensive Resort Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

For the most part there is a set menu for each day with the menu changing from day to day with only a few options other than the set menu. That being said, it is an all you can eat meal in a family setting, you sit and they bring more food to you as you want it. I've been there for breakfast and for dinner, both were amazing! I highly recommend the beef pot roast and fried chicken combination which comes with salad or coleslaw, mashed potatoes and gravy, awesome homemade bread, corn, and dessert. Did I mention it is all you can eat??

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring City, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I would not go back again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

considering 95% of people are all ordering the same thing, I cannot imagine why the service is so slow. The food was acceptable, but not great and the only reason we knew that dessert was included was that we heard a different waitress tell the table next to us about it, ours never mentioned it. For the price I would go somewhere else

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnsville
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“fun for the whole family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

lot's of good breakfast food. get here early , as lines form fast. fun decor and atmosphere, Waiter was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the Dells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been to the Dells many times and I have discovered that most places to dine are not that great and not that cheap. This is where I find Paul Bunyan's has the upper hand - they are better and cheaper than everyone else. Granted, I wouldn't call this fine cuisine but rather hearty food and an abundance of it. The ambiance is exactly the same as when I went 15 years ago. The service can be hit or miss as it is college students working there for the summer. My favorites things there to eat are the warm donuts, breakfast potatoes, fried chicken, mashed potatoes and ribs. If you see a line out the door, don't be discouraged, it goes very fast!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.