We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kids enjoyed the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Our kids enjoyed the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I had been here years ago before we had kids. We took our two kids here this weekend for a different experience. The check-in area is congested as you have to manuever through their shop area. We were seated right away but then it took FOREVER to have someone initially come wait on us. My husband told me if someone didn't come within 5 more minutes, he was getting up and asking for his money back. Thankfully someone came shortly after he said that. I think another waitress saw the look on my face and said someone will be with you soon. As soon as she made her appearance, she did a nice job and kept our food coming quickly when needed. Our kids enjoyed it. And we didn't mind the food. Donuts were a treat. We thought the sausage had a strange taste but everything else tasted "normal".

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    214
    111
    48
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Good time, good meal, fair price, and quick Since all the food is made, you don't need to wait long to be served. The wait staff was friendly and polite. The food was good and hot.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We visit hear every time we visit the Dells, sometimes twice! We love this place, the atmosphere, the price and THE FOOD. They were a little disorganized when you walk in, and I would say they should re evaluate the checking in process. Otherwise, everything else is great. Love the old time feel, the service is great, and the food is FANTASTIC. The doughnuts are AMAZING. The pancakes always have a little extra sweetness to them. The eggs are great. LOVE THE HAM. Last time we were there, we were offered biscuits and gravy, which I don't usually eat. But there's we're fantastic. They didn't offer them this time. ALSO, as much coffee, milk, and orange juice you can drink!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A family tradition...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Every year we travel to the Dells, every year we make our visit to Paul Bunyan's and always have a GREAT breakfast - however, NOT this time. We got an early start, as we arrive on Easter morning and did not want to wait for the breakfast crowds that fill this place. MISTAKE on our part...early morning visit, the food was just mediocre at best...everything was luke warm, if not out right cold. So disappointing.

We LOVE this place and always look forward to this wonderful breakfast family tradition - however, we will return, but just not early in the morning again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wisconsin Dells Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A multi-day trip isn't complete without a breakfast as Paul Bunyan's if you have kids. Served family style; scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, diced hash browns, biscuits & gravy, juice, pop and coffee or tea.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.