We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wisconsin Dells Classic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 169 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Homer Glen, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Wisconsin Dells Classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A multi-day trip isn't complete without a breakfast as Paul Bunyan's if you have kids. Served family style; scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, diced hash browns, biscuits & gravy, juice, pop and coffee or tea.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    265
    185
    96
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the cost, will never come back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

All you can eat, this is a sit down, home style meal. Which is fine, however when you're expecting choices because you're kids are picky, not so much, you're limited only to what they're cooking that day. The food tasted ok until I came to a rather long hair in my bbq ribs. The waitress only offered to bring us more ribs & the front desk said I should talk to my waitress. My family left still hungry after spending almost 65 dollars. I will never return here, poor customer service & hair in the food will not get repeat business.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Place you need to check out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to eat. It's been in the Dells for as long as I can remember. We went for breakfast, but they so serve dinner too! All food is served family style. At breakfast the donuts are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped with a group of 8 while in the Dells. It was a great choice. All of us loved the food and atmosphere. Yummy donuts and wonderful gift shop. Don't miss out on this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All You Can Eat Garbage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Paul Bunyans in the Dells was the most disappointing part of our trip...lets start with the water. It tasted like something was very very wrong with it...I took two sips and was done. The kids who are employed there are useless. I asked for milk (which is served in a carton) twice and never received it. When we got there at 11:00 am I was asked to pay 2 additional dollars for a soda! Ridiculous...
The eggs were wet...yes wet...the biscuits and gravy were cold, the sausages tasted like metal. The ONLY and I mean only thing we were served that was edible were the donuts. My husband said that even the ham tasted "off". We won't be back...don't waste your money on overpriced SLOP in bowls.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.