We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place you need to check out.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 169 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Place you need to check out.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great place to eat. It's been in the Dells for as long as I can remember. We went for breakfast, but they so serve dinner too! All food is served family style. At breakfast the donuts are great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    210
    110
    48
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We stopped with a group of 8 while in the Dells. It was a great choice. All of us loved the food and atmosphere. Yummy donuts and wonderful gift shop. Don't miss out on this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All You Can Eat Garbage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Paul Bunyans in the Dells was the most disappointing part of our trip...lets start with the water. It tasted like something was very very wrong with it...I took two sips and was done. The kids who are employed there are useless. I asked for milk (which is served in a carton) twice and never received it. When we got there at 11:00 am I was asked to pay 2 additional dollars for a soda! Ridiculous...
The eggs were wet...yes wet...the biscuits and gravy were cold, the sausages tasted like metal. The ONLY and I mean only thing we were served that was edible were the donuts. My husband said that even the ham tasted "off". We won't be back...don't waste your money on overpriced SLOP in bowls.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Love the waiters!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Had the most amazing doughnuts!! Breakfast was good. I would definitely visit this place again on my next visit!! The staff was amazing!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baraboo, Wisconsin
1 review
“terrible service poor food for an opening”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we visited the paul bunyan for its opening hoping we would get great food service it was terrible cold food server was no where be found when we needed something when we complain they say oh people new here it be better next time oh well wont be next time first impression everything get u act together serve hot food have servers available for drinks refills come on wake up

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.