We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
+1 608-254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 171 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For over 56 years and four generations later, Paul Bunyan's Cook Shanty welcomes your family to our family! Your Wisconsin Dells vacation would not be complete without a Paul Bunyan's Lumberjack meal. We take extreme pride in serving the freshest family style breakfast, lunch and dinner. With our ever-so-famous homemade buttermilk donuts made fresh every day, keeps our visitors coming from miles away just to pick up a dozen!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My kids loved this place! It's set up like a lumberjack shack and everything is served "family style", where it's all on big plates with enough for everyone. It was packed every time we stopped by and we had great food/service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    295
    145
    63
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

In the area, most of the breakfast spots and buffet-style. I figured this was yet another buffet, but was surprised to find that it was, in fact, a family-style service.

Seating is similar to that at a picnic, with benches or chairs. I imagine it would feel a little small on a crowded day, but we were able to have our own table to ourselves and no one immediately next to us.

The service began with drink orders, and was soon followed by their amazing buttermilk donuts. You can ask for more of anything you like, and the server will refill quickly. The donuts were then followed by hash-browned potatoes, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, ham, sausage, etc., Very filling and quite tasty.

Service was excellent, food was excellent, and the value was good. On the way out, you can roam their gift shop if you like, as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Saturday morning breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Service was great and the novlety aspect was worth it alone. The food was average with the exception of the amazing donuts. You do get all you can eat though. And the gift shop had some pretty great finds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It had been many years since I was a Paul Bunyon's. It was the same, great place I remembered. Because it was off-season, we got seated very quickly; during the season, I remember waiting in line outside the building. The food was very good and the waitress kept us well supplied. If you leave feeling hungry, it's your own fault.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lot's of food but”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stopped there for breakfast this morning and though the quantity was high we did find the food too cold to our liking. With trying to stay with the old woods style they lose out but giving large portions right away in metal bowls with no lids, this causes food like eggs or potatoes to cool down extremely quick . The food was good but sorry to say had a microwave kind of hint to it.
Sorry, you lost me as a customer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.