We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty

Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty
411 US Hwy 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-8717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 169 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Paul Bunyan’s Restaurant welcomes your family to our family. For more than 50 years, the Tonne Family has been opening their doors in Minocqua and Wisconsin Dells to generations of families. Now a Wisconsin tradition, it seems no vacation is complete without at least one visit to Paul Bunyan’s.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This place is awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My kids loved this place! It's set up like a lumberjack shack and everything is served "family style", where it's all on big plates with enough for everyone. It was packed every time we stopped by and we had great food/service!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    261
    184
    95
    46
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Not what I expected, Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

In the area, most of the breakfast spots and buffet-style. I figured this was yet another buffet, but was surprised to find that it was, in fact, a family-style service.

Seating is similar to that at a picnic, with benches or chairs. I imagine it would feel a little small on a crowded day, but we were able to have our own table to ourselves and no one immediately next to us.

The service began with drink orders, and was soon followed by their amazing buttermilk donuts. You can ask for more of anything you like, and the server will refill quickly. The donuts were then followed by hash-browned potatoes, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, ham, sausage, etc., Very filling and quite tasty.

Service was excellent, food was excellent, and the value was good. On the way out, you can roam their gift shop if you like, as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Saturday morning breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Service was great and the novlety aspect was worth it alone. The food was average with the exception of the amazing donuts. You do get all you can eat though. And the gift shop had some pretty great finds.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

It had been many years since I was a Paul Bunyon's. It was the same, great place I remembered. Because it was off-season, we got seated very quickly; during the season, I remember waiting in line outside the building. The food was very good and the waitress kept us well supplied. If you leave feeling hungry, it's your own fault.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lot's of food but”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stopped there for breakfast this morning and though the quantity was high we did find the food too cold to our liking. With trying to stay with the old woods style they lose out but giving large portions right away in metal bowls with no lids, this causes food like eggs or potatoes to cool down extremely quick . The food was good but sorry to say had a microwave kind of hint to it.
Sorry, you lost me as a customer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI

Been to Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paul Bunyan's Northwoods Cook Shanty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.