We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Friendly Service, and not Touristy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
130 Washington Ave, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1596
6082533073
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sandwiches
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service, and not Touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

Was at the Justagame Fieldhouse and stopped in for a quick bite to eat and a couple drinks. The steak sandwich is what they are basically known for and it doesn't disappoint! Nothing fancy but it hits the spot and was very tasty! Basically a typical WI bar/restaurant but worth a stop if you are in the area and don't want to deal with the masses at the more well known restaurants in the Dells.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Thank you for your review of Sand Bar! We appreciate you stopping for a couple beverages and glad you enjoyed the steak sandwich! Hope the tournament was a success!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“well below average....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We ate here last year and enjoyed it. We had a hard working waitress back then. This time, they were extremely understaffed given it was a Sunday Packer game and the place was packed with people from across the street at the basketball tournament. We had to go looking for someone to wait on us and no one was visibly around in the dining area. Our sandwiches came wrapped in paper and we were not given a plate or basket or anything. Just threw them on the table. Felt like a step down from McDonalds because there you at least get a tray!

Visited January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, February 26, 2015
Wow! So, FYI, your food was served exactly as it was when you gave a good review last year. One way we can keep cost down is using wax paper, this allows us to provide FRESH, REAL food at prices LOWER than your place with the tray! You might want to google ingredients for the tray place! As for understaffed, initially, yes, we went from empty to capacity in under 15 minutes. There isn't a restaurant in the world that could handle that without falling a little behind, especially with the large groups wanting separate tickets. Slows down ordering, the kitchen and checkout. Ticket times were still kept under 20 minutes and we received many compliments on how well we did and of course how good the food was. My staff did an amazing job, I apologize that we weren't up to your standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Next to the Fieldhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

If you are coming to the Dells for an event at Just A Game Fieldhouse then you need to stop here. The prices are great, the bloody mary's are awesome. We had the fish fry on Friday night and it was very good, the next day we had burgers and they weren't anything extra special but good enough! Several TV's for watching your favorite sporting event. The place is clean and the staff was very friendly. We also only had about 1 hour to kill and we were served in plenty of time.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Thanks for visiting us during your weekend at the Fieldhouse! Glad you enjoyed and hope to see you for the next tournament!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Good fish fry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

We stopped in on a Friday night based on reviews. This is a mid sized traditional Wisconsin bar/restaurant. The service was very good and the fish was good. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
First of all, thank you for visiting Sand Bar, we know you have plenty of options and we truly appreciate your business! We are thrilled you enjoyed our service and of course your dinner! Have to say the best part of your review was the end, "we will be back" Thank you and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

The locals know where to go for a great burger - now so do you! Just off the main drag in the Dells, the Sand Bar is a great place to hide from the din of the tourists. Friendly, comfy, great food and wallet-friendly prices. Try one of the local beers - they are all good.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, December 2, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Sand Bar! Double thanks for the high praise! Plenty of new beers have arrived for your next visit! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.