We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
130 Washington Ave, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1596
6082533073
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sandwiches
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you want some fun you have to stop at The Sand Bar. Great drinks at a good price. They have live music, with sing a longs. It gets a little crazy on the weekends, but it is good clean fun. Enjoy my friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate first you giving our little place a try and second for taking the time to let others know you enjoyed yourself! Hope to see you on your next trip, maybe during football season? We really have fun then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    18
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Steak sandwich and homemade salsa is A+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We at dinner on Saturday during the 4th of July weekend. We ate early before the crowds (it was PACKED on the 4th). After reading the reviews of this place online we thought we would give it a try. The service was GREAT and steak sandwich was amazing!! Our server (who also might have been one of the owners???) suggested trying their homemade salsa. WOW, it was fabulous and I am a salsa lover. I can see why people buy it "by the case". The atmosphere is great, late afternoon early evening, to take children. Also a very nice plus, the drinks and beer are some of the most reasonable in the Dells with quite the variety. This is a must stop for the best steak sandwich around. (Only thing we wish is that there was an option of sautéed onions).

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
My bad, we of course offer sautéed onions with our steak, guess that means you'll have to come back and have another one! But seriously, thank you for allowing us to be a part of your vacation to the Dells! Hope you and your family enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The highlight of my trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

i do a trip to the Dells every year with my wifes family. Sick to death of the Dells after 16 years. this is the place i go hide when they go to those lame water parks and "walk the strip". I love this place and wish there was a place like this where i live! the people and owner are all awesome. always great service and food. I'll be there in a couple weeks. cant wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
You made our day! Thanks for the great words, look forward to seeing you soon! New menu and plenty of new beers since your last visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Everyone was super nice! Great bar food, cold beer and great prices. The beer garden is really nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Hi and thank you for making Sand Bar part of your trip! We know you have many options and I want to personally thank you! We hope the rest of your vacation was equally enjoyable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
“Only bar you need to go to.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The Sand Bar rocks. The owners are great and treat everyone with respect. The bartenders are all really cool, and let's not forget about the food. There are no overpriced burgers here, plus the steak sandwich is fantastic. It is our favorite bar in the Dells by far.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thanks so much, going to make me blush! Having fun, friendly customers makes our job a whole lot easier! Thanks again and looking forward to the next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.