We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly off the main drag” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
130 Washington Ave, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1596
6082533073
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Slightly off the main drag”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Unless you wander the sidestreets or head over to the Amtrak train depot (itself worth a look because it's a beautiful, classic old station), the Sand Bar is off the regular tourism radar. We went last trip (to best take advantgae of the Great! 2-for-1 drink cards each member of our group had) and will go again on all future visits. Friendly, clunky, unpretentious, smalltown, folksy atmosphere with excellent prices (even without a 2-for-1) and none of the noise/crowdedness of the main drag during peak season. If it's primarily peopled by locals, they're friendly locals, and if it's mostly peopled by other visitors who stumbled upon it, they should feel as upbeat about this trip-from-a-trip as we did. I'd bad mouth some of the other Dells bars in more premium real estate to upsell the Sand Bar but: 1) that wouldn't be very constructive; and 2) I bet lots of their employees come here to drink.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    16
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best bar food in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in this past Saturday night to try the steak that I've herd so much about, and it was amazing. The guy working suggested the salsa, so I added it . This place is spot on with thier food and excellent service!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fish fry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great fish fry and very nice servers. I don't do bars but I do like to eat out and this place I would look forward to eating at.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

They moved up the road to a bigger building. It was a Sunday afternoon and only one bartender/ server taking care of the place. Food was dryed out and overcooked, nothing like the fantastic burgers they used to make, just another place in the Dells to add to my "will never go back there again"

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Of course very sorry your visit to Sand Bar was not up to par. We take great pride in our service and food. Would appreciate you contacting us at sandbardells.com as we would love to talk with you about your visit. Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Getting marooned in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is our favorite place to go fun and relaxation when we're in the Dells. We started going to the old place moved with them to the present place. All the bartenders are alot of fun. Great game day specials. Some of best bar cilli I've had anywhere. Cann't say enough about all the differant sandwiches. We have so much fun that we never want to go, and they never want you to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.