We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting marooned in the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sand Bar

Sand Bar
130 Washington Ave, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1596
6082533073
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Late Night
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Getting marooned in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is our favorite place to go fun and relaxation when we're in the Dells. We started going to the old place moved with them to the present place. All the bartenders are alot of fun. Great game day specials. Some of best bar cilli I've had anywhere. Cann't say enough about all the differant sandwiches. We have so much fun that we never want to go, and they never want you to go.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    48
    13
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A MUST IN THE DELLS!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I have been going to the Dells area for fun and business for years. We ALWAYS stop at the Sand Bar for a great drink and an even better burgar. The staff is always top notch and friendly. If you are looking to get away for the comercial/national/touristy side of the Dells, Sand Bar is the place. Great for locals and great for out of towners. I can't wait to get back and order my fav...the captain tony!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Almost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We went to the Sand Bar expecting a bit more, based on other reviews. We walked in, wandered around for a while, wondering if we were to seat ourselves and be waited on, or if we were to order food ourselves at the bar. We finally asked a blonde woman (who had walked past us several times earlier, but ignored us) what we should do, and she said "whatever". Wow. We started to walk out, as I hate an attitude. Then a man from behind the bar saw us leaving and ran after us, offering to take our order. He was sincerely nice, so we stayed. We ordered the steak sandwich, the Nico burger, and fries. We didn't add toppings to the steak sandwich, so what came was a lonely piece of steak in a bun. But, the meat was tender, and the bun was of good quality. The Nico burger was larger, and tasty enough, but not over the top great. The fries were excellent, though. The "secret sauce" we didn't touch, as it just sits in a jar on the table, uncovered, open to the sneezes, coughs, etc. of everyone who sat at that table before us. With two sodas, the bill was about $23.00 plus tip. We really appreciated the younger guy who ended up waiting on us, and he did a great job. He explained he doesn't own the place, but is passionate about it. Because of him we stayed, but we won't be rushing back.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph M, Owner at Sand Bar, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Truly sorry your visit to Sand Bar was not up to par. As I personally was working , I remember you and the day perfectly. Large tournament at JAG and completely full, people were standing and eating. My server was delivering trays of food to people waiting, was not being rude, was getting food to the customer while it's hot. I'm not making excuses and really am sorry we didn't make your visit a better one. Please, try us again, nothing bothers me more then people unhappy with Sand Bar.sandbardells.com. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tourist friendly Very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Sand Bar is definitely on my list of must go to places. The owners and staff are always friendly and there food is very good. We were there in Aug of 2012 for the friday fish fry. Awesome!, and recently we stopped in Oct 2012 for drinks and apps. We had there wings
(recommended by people sitting next to us) some of the best wings i've had. Can't wait to get back in April 2013.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Love the Sand Bar - both times we have been there (previously two years ago) the bartender has been extremely friendly. He also gave us tips on where to eat next time since we had a horrible experience at Marleys.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sand Bar also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sand Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.