We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just off the beaten path and still the BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rail Dog

Rail Dog
223 Wisconsin Ave., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-7505
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
1 review
“Just off the beaten path and still the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

If you want a good place to eat just off the beaten path this is the place. Quiet but with still a contemporary appeal then this is definitely the place to stop at for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    22
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jordan, Minnesota
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Cheer Up, buddy! Your food is awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

As evidenced by my past annual trips & reviews of Rail Dog, we are big fans. Still delicious, still great prices, hands down the most unique & interesting property. It was slow, but I wasn't greeted with the usual friendly, joking banter we've come to enjoy. Bummer that the dells taco is only served on weekends, but of course it makes sense to avoid unnecessary waste. I felt like he wanted us in & out in a hurry this time--kind of a let down, but not a game changer. Cheer up buddy, you've got this in the bag!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, IN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hot dog and a fun owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Food is good and the owner even better. Plus it's nice to sit outside and enjoy your meal. Definitely stop by this place.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stumbled across this place when I got lost looking for the location of my daughter's basketball tournament. Decided to come back as my 2 year old has a recent interest in trains. Glad we did! This place is very unique. One man show with great humor. Be prepared to wait a little bit, but it's worth it! Good food, perfect on a nice day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hot dogs with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

If you love railroad themed eateries, this is the place for you to have lunch, dinner, or a snack. There's 2 cabooses on their property. The Milwaukee road one is where you order your food from. One side has lots of railroad memorabilia and a history of the caboose. The other caboose is a Soo Line caboose. The owners of the Rail Dog use it as a motel room that you can rent. It has a king bed with a small bathroom and a table to sit at. The hot dog stand is only open during the summer months. I would eat here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rail Dog also viewed

 

Been to Rail Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rail Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.