We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rail Dog has yummy food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rail Dog

Rail Dog
223 Wisconsin Ave., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-7505
Improve this listing
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Erie, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rail Dog has yummy food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Quick , delicious and reasonable prices!! And it`s just across the street from our Motel (Gables Motel). Rail Dog is a favorite of our family!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    54
    19
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wort a look”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family stopped here after reading the reviews. We really enjoyed it. Be aware, it's cash only. While I was carrying a credit card, I stopped the order. The owner says" Eat first, pay me later" I ate the ran to an ATM. No one does anything like this. A quick meal off of Broadway St., and my family was ready to go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“You need to find this place off the strip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It was the sound of a choo choo train that got my two toddlers attention. We wandered down the road from where we had parked to find a corner side food location with train items (including what looks to be a caboose that you can sleep in at the motel its on!) We ordered hot dogs (toddlers did, wife and I ordered Chicagos). Vienna Beef, fantastic dogs. Man behind the counter was a character, kids loved him. They went inside, hit a few gizmos that made all sorts of train noises, and were about as happy as could be. Never knew this was here, but its absolutely on my list of places to eat at in the Dells now.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The owner was talkative and polite. The true polish restaurant and the polish tacos were great. The smoked polish was wrapped in a soft tortilla shell. The hot dog was good as well as the dell taco- made with gyro meat. The free added fries were a great touch. Kids would love the realistic sounds of a train. The owner was nice and serves the food .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
“Favorite Place to Eat in The Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Food is absolutely amazing, I have been coming here for years and have NEVER had a bad meal. I will continue to come for many more!! Keep up the great work and AMAZING FOOD!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rail Dog also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 
Wisconsin Dells, WI

Been to Rail Dog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rail Dog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.