We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love the Cottage!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Inn Motel
Save
You added Kings Inn Motel to your Saves list
31 Whitlock Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Freeport, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
“We love the Cottage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Ok...so we knew this place was NOT going to be a glamorous resort. The Wisconsin Dells Visitor's Bureau listed it as a "Classic Motel" so we knew to expect just the basics. They are also listed as a "Dog-Friendly Motel" so we were able to bring our Chow-Chow/Lab mix along. Upon our arrival, we were warmly greeted by the Host and his wife who were tending the beautiful flowers surrounding the property. Although their Slavic-accents were a little difficult to understand, we were able to decifer what was being said. (It was a little tougher on the phone when placing the reservation.) He usherd us into the office, saying they lived in the house connected to it in the back, so if we needed them just ring the door-bell/buzzer to the right of the door. We settled things with the bill inside, and while my husband filled out the paper-work his wife asked me what we were going to be up to on our trip. I told her we planned to go to Mt. Olympus and already had our passes/wristbands, but she still handed me two $20-dollars off coupons, plus several 25% off "Passport to Savings" Coupons to use at each of our destinations, which really helped a lot! They also reccommended the Moosejaw Pizza Resturant just a block and a half away to go to for dinner, and gave us coupons for that too! Then he led us to the Cottage. We were pleasently surprised! It was basically like a small apartment with a reasonably sized living room area with a cozy couch and fire-place, kitchen complete with dishes and pots & pans for our use, a small table and two chairs in the kitchen which were perfect for eating breakfast, a decent sized bathroom, and a very comfy king-sized bed. Everything was very clean, but you can tell it was an older space that was starting to show some wear. The floor was kinda sloped and settling towards the middle, so the countertop that seperated the kitchen from the living room was not so level, and you kinda had to step up into the bathroom to avoid catching your foot where carpet met tile. The celing light in the middle of the living room was starting to come loose, and we suggested to the Host that it would really benifit as a celing-fan anyway. There are 1-2 windows in each room which provide a lot of natural light and let in cool breezes when opened. Our weekend get-away wasn't a total wash-out, but it did rain and storm a lot while we were there. The roof or windows do NOT leak and the air-conditioner works great. Our plans had to be slightly altered Sat morning, which our Host made suggestions and gave us more coupons so we could get the most out of our day indoors. He apologized about the unavailable indoor pool, saying they were unable to renew their permit for it's use this year. (The pics on their website were from 2011.) This was a minor disappointment since Mt. Olympus has an indoor water-park. Eventhough we didn't plan to spend much time in our room or cottage due to all the activities we had planned, we actually looked forward to our nights of relaxation when our fun was over for the day. And our puppy-girl loved it too! If you can look past the imperfections of this basic motel, I'm sure you will also get a great deal (we only paid $80 per night) and a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was a first time visitor to the Dells, trying to save money, bringing 5 kids and needed a family suite. The reviews weren't too bad, so we booked the Kings Inn expecting it to be nothing fancy but room for all of us and with a kitchen to save money on meals. Web site shows a pool and picnic area and promises free Wi-Fi. After arriving in the Dells we found no signs for this place anywhere. The GPS could not find it even with the address, employees at a local Dunkin Donuts never heard of it but looked up the phone number for us. We called twice, no answer, goes to voice mail. I ended up going to a liquor/convenience store for directions and finally found it. The office is locked up, you have to ring a buzzer a couple of times before anyone comes. An older man with a thick eastern European accent comes to the door, I stated we were late because we got lost, he then argued with me and told me "No, it is easy to find, sign is on building" basically telling me I DID NOT get lost! He then wanted me to pay for all three nights upfront, we already paid for one prior to arrival, before seeing the room, I said no, then he said "so you only stay one night", I said I wanted to see the room first. Small, rundown, badly in need of repair, electrical outlets were all old, two prong only, couldn't plug in our power strip, phone only makes calls to other rooms, very few cable channels, NO Wi-Fi because the password was "invalid", and the indoor pool was filled with about 6in of filthy sludge water. The "picnic area" showed on the website--a PUBLIC PARK across the street!!! No coupon books, no free water park passes ( we got them from the next hotel we stayed at for the SAME price as this place), when I asked him about coupons he wouldn't even answer me, he acted confused. No offer of a discount for the lack of a pool, internet, or a phone, in fact he was very rude and argued whenever you asked him a question. The furniture looked like they pulled it out of someone's dumpster and my 2 yr old's feet turned BLACK from walking on the carpet!! We couldn't leave fast enough!!!!AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Kings Inn Motel is the best kept secret in Wisconsin Dells! Their rates are awesome,- unbeatable as far as I've found in Wisconsin Dells.The rooms are fine, and they have a double suite, as well as a Super Awesome Cabin, complete with kitchen, living room, and fireplace, for only around $90 on weekend nights!
There's a BEAUTIFUL garden and deck near the office, and there's a public park with a Playground, Tennis Courts, Basketball Court- Right behind the motel!
Places for grilling, much more quiet than the other places on the 'strip'! Right near a great diner, and walking distance to the Moosejaw Restaurant.
Again, their rates are unbeatable, and it's so much nicer and quieter to stay here! Do yourself a favor, and stay at Kings Inn Motel when you visit Wisconsin Dells!
We'll definitely return, and recommend to all our friends!

Room Tip: The cabin is where it's at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Motel was run down! Office was closed even after making reservation. When called number on door, the person said "it's gonna be a while befoe get back" We stopped back 2 hours later to the same sign and no one around. As for discount tickets- you can get them at any motel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Their cabin is really a small house. Basic, but clean and fine for my husband and me. Would be small for a family, unless the couch pulls out into a bed. Really liked the electric fireplace. Offered free wi-fi too. We have stayed in the past with our dog and appreciate that they accept pets of all sizes/breeds and don't discriminate.

Room Tip: I've never stayed in the motel, only the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

It is true that it is off the beaten path, but that is why it is such a quiet place. The cons: We had a room that had not been updated yet and appeared to be from the 60's. The frig, microwave, phone and coffee maker were unplugged and not ready to go for us. The smoke detector is located above the bathroom door, so after you take a shower it sets off the alarm. All of these things were minor issues to us.
The pros: It is very quiet. The pool was always ready to swim in. The owners keep the place in very clean condition and were very accommodating to us by crediting us a day back when we left a day earlier than expected. They also offer coupons to use at attractions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stopped at this place without previouse research. It is located off the main road and has lots of green areas and nice done landscaping. There is a park nearby you can play basketball or tennis. It is closed to all attractions.The office offers a lots of discount tickets to get to them. Rooms are well kept. Good job Ania!! The swimming pool is indoor! You can use a BBQ on site or make your own fire in the designated area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#28 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#48 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Summer Breeze Resort
Summer Breeze Resort
#5 of 17 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twi-Lite Motel
Twi-Lite Motel
#44 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
3.3 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Motel

Address: 31 Whitlock Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 21

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.