We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Motel Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Inn Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Inn Motel
31 Whitlock Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
South Sioux City, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Motel Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was a first time visitor to the Dells, trying to save money, bringing 5 kids and needed a family suite. The reviews weren't too bad, so we booked the Kings Inn expecting it to be nothing fancy but room for all of us and with a kitchen to save money on meals. Web site shows a pool and picnic area and promises free Wi-Fi. After arriving in the Dells we found no signs for this place anywhere. The GPS could not find it even with the address, employees at a local Dunkin Donuts never heard of it but looked up the phone number for us. We called twice, no answer, goes to voice mail. I ended up going to a liquor/convenience store for directions and finally found it. The office is locked up, you have to ring a buzzer a couple of times before anyone comes. An older man with a thick eastern European accent comes to the door, I stated we were late because we got lost, he then argued with me and told me "No, it is easy to find, sign is on building" basically telling me I DID NOT get lost! He then wanted me to pay for all three nights upfront, we already paid for one prior to arrival, before seeing the room, I said no, then he said "so you only stay one night", I said I wanted to see the room first. Small, rundown, badly in need of repair, electrical outlets were all old, two prong only, couldn't plug in our power strip, phone only makes calls to other rooms, very few cable channels, NO Wi-Fi because the password was "invalid", and the indoor pool was filled with about 6in of filthy sludge water. The "picnic area" showed on the website--a PUBLIC PARK across the street!!! No coupon books, no free water park passes ( we got them from the next hotel we stayed at for the SAME price as this place), when I asked him about coupons he wouldn't even answer me, he acted confused. No offer of a discount for the lack of a pool, internet, or a phone, in fact he was very rude and argued whenever you asked him a question. The furniture looked like they pulled it out of someone's dumpster and my 2 yr old's feet turned BLACK from walking on the carpet!! We couldn't leave fast enough!!!!AVOID!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    0
    1
    4
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Kings Inn Motel is the best kept secret in Wisconsin Dells! Their rates are awesome,- unbeatable as far as I've found in Wisconsin Dells.The rooms are fine, and they have a double suite, as well as a Super Awesome Cabin, complete with kitchen, living room, and fireplace, for only around $90 on weekend nights!
There's a BEAUTIFUL garden and deck near the office, and there's a public park with a Playground, Tennis Courts, Basketball Court- Right behind the motel!
Places for grilling, much more quiet than the other places on the 'strip'! Right near a great diner, and walking distance to the Moosejaw Restaurant.
Again, their rates are unbeatable, and it's so much nicer and quieter to stay here! Do yourself a favor, and stay at Kings Inn Motel when you visit Wisconsin Dells!
We'll definitely return, and recommend to all our friends!

Room Tip: The cabin is where it's at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Motel was run down! Office was closed even after making reservation. When called number on door, the person said "it's gonna be a while befoe get back" We stopped back 2 hours later to the same sign and no one around. As for discount tickets- you can get them at any motel!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

Their cabin is really a small house. Basic, but clean and fine for my husband and me. Would be small for a family, unless the couch pulls out into a bed. Really liked the electric fireplace. Offered free wi-fi too. We have stayed in the past with our dog and appreciate that they accept pets of all sizes/breeds and don't discriminate.

Room Tip: I've never stayed in the motel, only the cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

It is true that it is off the beaten path, but that is why it is such a quiet place. The cons: We had a room that had not been updated yet and appeared to be from the 60's. The frig, microwave, phone and coffee maker were unplugged and not ready to go for us. The smoke detector is located above the bathroom door, so after you take a shower it sets off the alarm. All of these things were minor issues to us.
The pros: It is very quiet. The pool was always ready to swim in. The owners keep the place in very clean condition and were very accommodating to us by crediting us a day back when we left a day earlier than expected. They also offer coupons to use at attractions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stopped at this place without previouse research. It is located off the main road and has lots of green areas and nice done landscaping. There is a park nearby you can play basketball or tennis. It is closed to all attractions.The office offers a lots of discount tickets to get to them. Rooms are well kept. Good job Ania!! The swimming pool is indoor! You can use a BBQ on site or make your own fire in the designated area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We ended up at this hotel due to the price and location but we took a chance since we couldn't find any reviews on the web. So here's a review for all you wondering - we got what we paid for. The bedrooms were nice, the sheets were clean and fresh. The hotel needed some upkeep. The sofa bed couldn't be slept in because the springs weren't there in spots and the mattress was worn to nothing. Sleeping on the couch itself was a better alternative than on the hide-a-bed. After the first evening we noticed that our feet were turning black from the carpet so we worn our shoes in the hotel room. The location was very quiet with a park within walking distance. During the week it wasn't very busy but over the weekend the parking lot was full of cars and loud people in rooms next to us. The owner was helpful and we did get discount tickets to a couple places and we weren't in our room very much so it was OK.

  • Liked — The two bedrooms and location near park
  • Disliked — Older motel needs upkeep
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
Free Parking, P...
Show More
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#30 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Room Service, F...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Summer Breeze Resort
Summer Breeze Resort
#2 of 18 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
B&Bs, Independe...
Show More
3.0 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#9 of 18 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Free Parking, I...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Twi-Lite Motel
Twi-Lite Motel
#50 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 14 reviews
Pool, Free Park...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Trail's End Motel
Trail's End Motel
#51 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Best Value, Poo...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Malibu Inn Wisconsin Dells
Malibu Inn Wisconsin Dells
#45 of 77 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn Motel

Address: 31 Whitlock Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kings Inn Motel to your Saves list