We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food delivered by a train” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille

Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille
150 Gasser Rd, PO Box 298, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
+1 608-254-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Families love our Train Delivered Food! Buffalo Phil's menu includes Rotisserie Chicken, BBQ, Pizzas & Lil' Buckaroo Meals. Stop in & try our All-You-Can-Eat Lunch Buffet with Pizzas, Pastas, Salads & Soups served daily from 11am-3pm ! Come to eat, stay to play at Knuckleheads Bowling & Indoor Amusement Park next door! We're located at the Tanger Outlet Complex.
Western Springs, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent food delivered by a train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Western-y themes but with trains around the top and that bring you your meal (if you request the tables on the sides). Service was good, nice drink and craft beer selection (a must by the end of a day of vacation with our kids). My husband got the ribs and brisket and said it wasn't great. I got the Friday fish fry and it was really good - got half fried (which wasn't greasy or heavy) and half baked (also good) and I really liked all the extras too - baked beans, tartar sauce and coleslaw (things that usually aren't my favorites). It is attached to Knuckleheads arcade / kiddie version of Vegas so it is a clear aim to be a gateway to get you in there (so I would say don't go if you don't plan / want to spend time at Knuckleheads).

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    274
    160
    73
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fulton, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Decent food, good set up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

The food is OKAY, but the experience is wonderful. The kids loved that a train went by with the food/drinks, and also occasionally came by blowing bubbles. The atmosphere is very woodsy with a lot of taxidermy animals that the kids loved to look at. Service was so-so, our order got mixed up somewhat (and we ordered the buffet.... so that was kind of a turn off). Also, the buffet wasn't GREAT, would suggest ordering off the menu.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portage wi
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Mediocre food but kids like the train”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

So here's the deal with this place - they have a train that goes around the perimeter to deliver your drinks and the kids meals. IF that is something you are interested in, seems like you might want to make reservations in advance - we didn't make reservations and had to wait over 45 min. and it wasn't particularly busy. IF you don't care about the train, tell them and you probably won't have a wait. Now for the food - we ordered the rotisserie chicken and that was very good. However, all the sides were poor - the mashed potatoes were so lukewarm that the butter didn't melt, the corn bread and coleslaw tasted like it was days old (not "day old" but "days"), and the 2" corn on the cob was also lukewarm. The huge, loud and sensory overload arcade is next door and the kids like it but it was a barrage to my senses and I couldn't wait to get out.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent food, fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Despite my kids being 13 and 15, we just had to sit in the area where the food is delivered by train, even though the wait to get a table was longer. My kids were surrounded by toddlers and younger kids, but they had a blast anyways! The food was decent, the price wasn't too bad and the service was good. Be warned that there is a huuuuggge arcade attached to the restaurant, which is a time and money sucker! We'll probably eat here again on future visits to the Dells.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere but a little over priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We loved the atmosphere of Buffalo Phil's. Our children (8,8,6) loved the train that delivered the food and watching to see what would come out on the cars next. The food was ok and seemed a little on the high side for our family. We loved our experience and would go again.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffalo Phil's Pizza & Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.