We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want the best prime rib EVER? FIND BUBBA! (James)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Karoo

Great Karoo
1305 Kalahari Dr., Kalhari Resort, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
877-525-2427
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 169 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Restaurant details
Plainfield, Indiana
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Want the best prime rib EVER? FIND BUBBA! (James)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

WOW! We really enjoyed this, we showed up late to this eatery but ALL of the staff was EXCELLENT. They took the time to help our 3 year old, the food was PERFECT, even close to close, FANTASTIC, back to James... (AKA Bubba).. He has one hell of a nice HOT rub that he added to MY prime rib. All I can say is W O W !!!!! Look him up and ask him for the good stuff!! YUM!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am so pleased you had a wonderful dining experience and enjoyed your prime rib during your visit to Great Karoo. Thank you so much for the review and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    25
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Karoo-Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really good food for breakfast and dinner. Our son is allergic to milk and they were very good about making him his own food. He was thrilled that they could make him french toast and a coconut smoothie with soy milk. They really went above and beyond!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved the buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Not too expensive, and huge variety of things to eat. The whole familiy could find something to eat, even my picky teen. There was a separate children's buffet, that had things like pancakes with M&Ms and red velvet cake pancakes. Just about any breakfast food you can imagine was available and freshly made. The made-to-order omelet stand was good, and moved quickly enough that the line was not long. I don't think the menu differed from day to day, but it didn't matter because there were so many choices of different things to eat. I highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I had tickets for the breakfast buffet in our package for our trip. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. They had everything to choose from, the normal selection like eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. But what i liked the most was the few different choices, carrot cake pancakes, pumpkin french toast,crunchy waffles. Also had a meat carving station with ham, or sirloin. Had fresh fruit station, which the wife and i enjoyed the fruit smoothies, yogurt with fresh fruit (RASPBERRIES!!!).
Also the danish/bagel station had a great selection. We like it so much the first day with our passes the wife suggested going the next morning also, as this was not a norm for us to eat at the same place twice in a stay then it had to be good. Great service outstanding selection. YUM!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The breakfast buffet at Great Karoo is top-notch! There is a wide variety of selections sure to please everyone. Some items available include omelets, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, pastries, oatmeal, cereal, sausage, bacon, Eggs Benedict, etc. Something for everyone. I highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo also viewed

 

Been to Great Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Karoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.