We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Karoo-Great Buffet” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Karoo

Great Karoo
1305 Kalahari Dr., Kalhari Resort, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
877-525-2427
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Restaurant details
milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Karoo-Great Buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Really good food for breakfast and dinner. Our son is allergic to milk and they were very good about making him his own food. He was thrilled that they could make him french toast and a coconut smoothie with soy milk. They really went above and beyond!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    21
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Loved, loved, loved the buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Not too expensive, and huge variety of things to eat. The whole familiy could find something to eat, even my picky teen. There was a separate children's buffet, that had things like pancakes with M&Ms and red velvet cake pancakes. Just about any breakfast food you can imagine was available and freshly made. The made-to-order omelet stand was good, and moved quickly enough that the line was not long. I don't think the menu differed from day to day, but it didn't matter because there were so many choices of different things to eat. I highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I had tickets for the breakfast buffet in our package for our trip. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. They had everything to choose from, the normal selection like eggs, bacon, sausage, etc. But what i liked the most was the few different choices, carrot cake pancakes, pumpkin french toast,crunchy waffles. Also had a meat carving station with ham, or sirloin. Had fresh fruit station, which the wife and i enjoyed the fruit smoothies, yogurt with fresh fruit (RASPBERRIES!!!).
Also the danish/bagel station had a great selection. We like it so much the first day with our passes the wife suggested going the next morning also, as this was not a norm for us to eat at the same place twice in a stay then it had to be good. Great service outstanding selection. YUM!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Breakfast Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

The breakfast buffet at Great Karoo is top-notch! There is a wide variety of selections sure to please everyone. Some items available include omelets, pancakes, cinnamon rolls, pastries, oatmeal, cereal, sausage, bacon, Eggs Benedict, etc. Something for everyone. I highly recommend!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The price is not outrageous, but I think the meats at the carving station need to be kept warmer; they were room temp. Rosa, our server, was outstanding! We chatted with her quite awhile, as we also live in a "tourist town" and make or break it depending on our summers. She was quick, friendly, and gave ussome good tips on the downtown area. If we choose to come back to the Great Karoo, it will be because of Rosa!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
The Great Karoo Buffet was recently renovated back in May of this year. I am so happy you were able to visit and become close friends with your server, Rosa. I will make a note about the temperature of the meat on the carving station the day you were there. Take care and we'll see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Great Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Karoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.