We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Karoo

Great Karoo
1305 Kalahari Dr., Kalhari Resort, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
877-525-2427
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Restaurant details
Minnesota
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good Italian Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We really enjoyed the Italian Buffet for the adults and kids. It starts with an awesome build your own salad, has lots of pizza choices, lots of pasta choices and lots of meat choices. We had a number of the desserts, but could not say they were great.
We enjoyed the view of the water park while we dined, and our server took good care of us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Buffet style Italian with lots of choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Big likes were the build your own pasta meal...from many types of pasta to sauce and meats (steak, shrimp, chicken, sausage) you can satisfy any picky eater.

It is a buffet so the sauces were bland, but we are not in spicey food states (in Minnesota ketchup is a spice).

Our server was very nice, and the restaurant overlooks the indoor water park so you can get the kids amped up while they eat dinner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good value for resort restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Had buffet breakfast and buffet dinner here when we stayed at the Kalahari.
Was hesitant at first to try the resort restaurants but was pleasantly surprised by the value it offered.
Breakfast buffet was $13 for adults and $4 for kids under 10 with kids 2 and under free. Included pancakes, scrambled eggs, waffles, bacon, sausages, coffee, tea, etc...
Dinner buffet was $16 for adults and $5 for kids under 10 with kids under 2 free. Have variety of pizzas, pastas, salads, etc..
If we went out to eat at another restaurant outside the resort would have pretty much cost more expecially since the kid pricing was so fair. Would definitely recommend especially if you have a lot of kids with you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you so very much while visiting us, during your stay in Kalahari. We the love the feedback and appreciate all of your thoughts! I just wanted to be sure to send you a quick note thanking you and let you know we are excited to see you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Another Good food, Slow Service Review for Kalahari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were seated immediately but waited a few minutes for a server to arrive in the mostly empty restaurant. When she did come, she was pleasant. We ordered our beverages and decided on the pasta bar as we feared that ordering from the menu might take all night. As it turned out, the pasta bar was very good. Nice variety, the pasta and toppings were well prepared. The desserts were very good as well. We would recommend this restaurant for the pasta bar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Great Karoo, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review our restaurant. Certainly our pleasure to have you. Very glad to hear you enjoyed the Pasta bar, and I will be sure to pass along your thoughts to our Chef. Take care and hope to see you again when you visit next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Kalahari for 4 nights and on the last night were too tired to venture off property. Our son had wanted to try this place earlier but we had diswaded him assuming that a buffet inside a hotel, overlooking a waterpark would be subpar at best. We were wrong. It was excellent. The buffet was $15.99 for adults and $4.99 for children 10 and under. The salad bar was extensive with several unique items. The pizza was very good, fresh and tasty. What impressed me the most was the bulid your own pasta bar. Much to my surprise the pasta (4 different types) were al dente, out of warming pans. They had 4 different sauces to choose from. I had the alfredo and meat sauce both of which had very good flavor. They also had cauliflower, brocolli, sauted mushooms, onions and a few other things to add to your pasta. The brocolli and mushrooms were yummy. There was a dessert bar which was ok. The cheesecake was not good. The tiramisu was fine. The key lime pie was very good The chocolate pie was excellent. We would return even if we aren't staying at the Kalahari.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Karoo also viewed

 

Been to Great Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Karoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.