We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough to get a drink ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Wisconsin Brew Pub

Wisconsin Brew Pub
1303 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965 (Formerly Damon's Grill)
+1 608-254-1900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 170 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Wisconsin Brew Pub, a family-friendly dining and drinking destination that celebrates all things Wisconsin. Come experience award-winning ales and lagers combined with the highest quality food. You'll soon be telling all your friends to check out the Wisconsin Brew Pub. Set amid a casual Wisconsin neighborhood tavern atmosphere - great drinks, amazing food, games, fun, and more are all on hand at the Wisconsin Brew Pub. See you and your family at Wisconsin Brew Pub!
Algoma, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tough to get a drink ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stopped in for a couple drinks and had no problem with the first round as we were the only two there. After that as more people arrived it became more difficult. I waited 15 minutes for my second drink and there were only 12 other people there. I can not imagine how difficult it would be if the place was full.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of Cheese dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

This was a nice comfy place to get a meal. All the food was good. The prime rib sandwich was especially tasty. Our favorite was the table top smores! Enough for 4 and you got to toast marshmallows at your table (great value too). Service was great!

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishpeming, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing! You HAVE to eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

If you are staying at the Kalahari I highly recommend this restaurant as a go to for a meal. Do NOT go here however, if you have a headache or can't stand loud restaurants. We couldn't hear people down at the end of our table, it was that loud. The food was surprisingly decent priced, and made everyone's stomach very happy. I mean come on....who wouldn't love a place that serves burgers with cheese curds INSIDE of the burger?

click on the link below for the full blog review:

http://smalltowngirlfoodieworld.blogspot.com/2015/04/wisconsin-brew-pub.html

  • Visited April 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

This restaurant is attached to the Kalahari. We went for dinner. They seemed a little short staffed. The food was very good! I loved the cheese soup!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Typical resort restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

How do you define "brew pub"? According to Merriam Webster : a restaurant that sells beverages brewed on the premises. This does not appear to be a "brew pub", as I don't believe they brew any beer here. They do have a fairly good selection of beers on tap from various breweries.

We were not staying at the kalahari. We are local to the area and wanted to give the place a try. We were seated quickly in the bar area. As another reviewer commented, the bar chairs are lumpy and leave a lot to be desired. Our waitress was very good.

Onto the food. Good, but not worth the price being paid. Cheese curds were average. I've had much much better cheese curds for a lesser price. Truly good and fresh cheese curds will stand alone. There will be no need for a dip to give flavor. They will speak for themselves.

Wisconsin Supperclub. Good sandwich, but could have been so much better. The bacon was fabulous. Nueske's bacon has terrific flavor. Anyone who has had it knows that. The ham and turkey were just thick slices of what appeared to be processed meat. The bacon is what made this sandwich good.

You're definitely paying for being at a resort here. If you're at the kalahari and simply don't want to get in the car to go elsewhere, the food here would be good and acceptable. If you're willing to get in your car and explore, the Dells area has a number of better and/or more reasonable places to offer.

While I'm glad we checked this place out, most likely would not return. Many better options elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wisconsin Brew Pub also viewed

 

Been to Wisconsin Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisconsin Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.