We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thirty dollars for a lot of salad choices.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ponderosa Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ponderosa Steakhouse
940 Wisconsin Dells Parkway South, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
608.253.3705
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 167 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout, Buffet
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thirty dollars for a lot of salad choices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The man at the counter was rude, the server never came to the table after he brought us the drinks, and if you didn't want salad or fruit and you got the buffet you starved. To top it all there was a family who was letting their 3 children run all around the buffet which made it almost impossible to get to the food without tripping over children. I won't go back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    23
    12
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Family of 7 could get what they wanted with one flat price

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pretty good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The prices here are very high considering it is a Ponderosa, but the food is generally good. I had the Chicken Monterey and I had to send it back because I didn't like the cold sauce and raw cheese on top of the chicken so I had it broiled for 3 minutes to finish it off, but otherwise it was good. Fresh fruits and veggies, the salad bar has a great variety.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Total piece of *&$^%$# and”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I thought this was a steak house...but more like a chum bucket. I would have thought the Dells would have better. My family went for the buffet and we were not impressed. We will never, ever, ever go back there. I would not recommend this place either.
The family next to us ordered steak and burgers off the menu and they were very disappointed out too. I could hear them saying how the steak was like leather and the burgers were like dog food. eeeew! I'm glad I didn't order any of the higher priced stuff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just not the Ponderosa I remember as a kid.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The buffett was over priced and the selection was very poor. We ended up ordering food from the menu which was even more dissapointing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponderosa Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.