We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST NIGHT OF OUR LIVES” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2504 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, 944 US Highway 12, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965 (Formerly Days Inn of Wisconsin Dells)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #71 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
GreenLeadersGold level
Franklin, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WORST NIGHT OF OUR LIVES”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The location is not that bad, we walked into our room and noticed that it looked like has not been used in a while. Woke up in the Middle of the night 4:30 AM and felt like something was creeping on my legs and arms. Pulled the sheet off and was covered with multiple BEDBUGS. Immediately packed our stuff and complained to the manager in charge at the time. We even took one of the bugs, in a cup, to the gal at the front desk and she stated ahhh BEDBUGS... We asked for a refund and left without receiving one, was told that they did not have the authority to refund our money. If your looking for a few BITES and no help from the people in charge, this is the place to stay. Pool arera was dirty and pool water was dingy looking. No REST here,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    23
    30
    46
    158
See reviews for
112
77
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland oregon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The outside of the hotel is a little dated but the rooms are clean and the location is nice. The hotel is on a side street so it's less noisy than being on the main street yet you can walk to most of the attractions and restaurants. The room was large and the bed comfortable so we slept well and that's what counts!

Room Tip: We didn't have a reservation when we arrived. The rate we were quoted at the front desk seemed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Our room smelled like a musty basement there were spider webs on the inside window and everything seemed dirty the pool had alot of hair in it and the hot tub didn't work and we also heard other guest complain about how dirty there room was the only good thing was the location

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our Choice Rewards complimentary night hotel suite room at Econo Lodge in Wisconsin Dells was totally unacceptable. In the bedroom the drapery rod was supported by only one loose screw at one end and you had to be careful when you pulled it shut or it might fall down. In the bathroom the toilet paper holder was ripped out so you had to use toilet paper that sat on the sink. The bathroom door frame and mirror frame had been previously ripped off the wall and so it was rough. There were no towels and so we had to request them from the front desk. We got in late and so we had to take what we had. The manager was helpful but mentioned that he had to work late due to staff not coming in. In the morning the breakfast area was a mess with a dirty waffle iron, no bags for the garbage even after they were requested, dirty things everywhere. Staff were apologetic but unable to correct the problems. This place needs a lot of help and possibly new management.
Econo Lodge is the lowest of the Choice Hotels package in my estimation. I travel a lot for my job and typically stay in Choice Hotels. This place is arguably the worst hotel that I have stayed in. Econo Lodge are recycled older hotels. In this case this is a recycled Days Inn. Not thrilled with the Econo Lodge brand but sometimes it is the only Choice Hotel where I need to go and I can use my points. Makes me rethink staying at any Econo Lodge. I will plan to make mention of this to the Choice Hotels Management. I recently watched "Undercover Boss" that featured Choice Hotels and they addressed different issues in a positive manner. I could only imagine what the boss would say about this place. I am sure that things would immediately change or else.

Room Tip: Be wary of the Econo Lodge brand hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is under new management and the new employees are very friendly and hard working! The place is clean and very family friendly. The staff were accomodating as well. I was amazed at all of the rude comments about this hotel and wondered if we were talking about the same place! If you read these reviews, please remember that starting September 6th, an entire new staff has started. Give them a try, I promise you will not be dissappointed with the rates or the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The first room, a suite, was unacceptable. The toilet paper holder, towel rack, and part of the bathroom door frame had all been ripped off the wall. A drapery rod was supported by only one loose screw at one end. Walls were dirty with what appeared to be squashed bug spots on them. The only bath towel was one left on the door hook by a previous occupant.

I accepted a different room, not a suite, but I didn't care since I was using Choice Rewards loyalty points to pay for it. This room was satisfactory but still needed some general cleaning beyond what a maid would be able to do, for example, drapes, grouting, etc.

The pool and hot tub promised by the website were closed for repairs. Those with physical limitations should note that this property does not appear to have an elevator anywhere. This was the third poor experience I've had with Choice Hotels branded properties this year. I expect I will do what I can to use up my rewards points and switch my loyalty to a different lodging chain.

Room Tip: Definitely ask to thoroughly examine the room in which you would be staying BEFORE you register. Cal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.
It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I would like to begin by saying that this hotel is under new management. In fact, the sign was changed from Days Inn to Econo Lodge while we were there. We checked in, in the middle of August, I might add, with only a moment's notice, since we were supposed to stay at the Super 8 down the highway. The Super 8 was going to charge us an additional fee of 150 a day if we left our dog unattended in the room at any time. Can you even believe that? We checked out of the Super 8 only moments after checking in, and, now I was in a panic. What was I going to do? I had made the reso in May, and I have never checked out of a hotel like that in my life. So, with high anxiety, we began to search for another hotel at the last minute. We happened upon Econo Lodge, perched high atop the four corners of the Bridge at The Dells, with an exciting view of the entire vacation paradise. MATT, who checked us in, was kind and courteous and understanding. He gave us a room which was exactly like the one at Super 8, two queen beds, and we were unpacking within moments of our arrival. In fact, everyone here went out of their way to help us and everyone was kind and helpful and friendly. Our room was nice, quiet, cozy. You should be aware that there are no refrigerators in the rooms, but Matt said we could keep anything we wanted in their fridge. I thought that was nice. We bought a cooler at Walgreens and kept it filled with ice, so we made a makeshift fridge for our four day stay. Our room was quite sufficient for our stay. And guess what? This is the PERFECT place to stay if you are on a budget and are traveling with your pet. Ignore the other rude comments that people have made about this motel. There is absolutely nothing wrong with this place. It was clean, the staff were awesome, all of them, and we were made to feel at home the entire time we were there. I will certainly stay here again. Thank you, everyone, at Econo Lodge, for being so nice, and helping us in a pinch. You guys are awesome!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just_a_traveler3000, General Manager at Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to share your recent stay at our hotel.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.
Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells

Address: 2504 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, 944 US Highway 12, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965 (Formerly Days Inn of Wisconsin Dells)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge in Wisconsin Dells, conveniently located off Interstates 90 and 94, the Econo Lodge® in Wisconsin Dells, WI, offers easy access to attractions like Mt. Olympus Waterpark and Wisconsin Ducks, a guided land and water tour of the Wisconsin River. This Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin hotel is also near Wisconsin Deer Park, Timber Falls Adventure Park and Trapper’s Turn Golf Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Of Wisconsin Dells Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Days Inn Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Wisconsin Dells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.