We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed and won't be back again, it's the wilderness for us now on” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
East Peoria, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed and won't be back again, it's the wilderness for us now on”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed Friday night at the wilderness and Saturday night at chula vista to compare the two. At Chula vista check in turned out to be a hassle, The water park doesn't have near the slides as the wilderness and is cramped. We had to park in a completely different parking lot than the building our room and that's a huge issue in January with two little boys and baggage. The temperature in the water park was chilly. Our room feels very tacky like is straight out of a 90s movie. The location is kind of a ways off the main drag which makes going out to eat more of a hassle than its worth. It took forever to get our over priced and not that good food from the snack cafe in the water park. In general I'm very disappointed and don't feel it was worth 190 dollars. I wish I booked both nights at the wilderness. I don't see us ever coming back.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Ethyanw1990,

So sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations on this particular journey to Chula Vista.
I do offer my personal apologies that we did not deliver on on what was to be expected. The feedback that you provided is helpful and has been reviewed by the appropiate managers.
Have a safe winter travel season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    415
    260
    209
    170
See reviews for
821
121
5
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Me, My significant other and our son stayed in this resort and we're affected by bed bugs. We're now praying we did not end up bringing any home with us. If you do stay here take the extra precautionary actions to make sure your not victim to the horrible bites or welcoming someone new to into your home when you come back. Educate yourself it will be your best piece of mind, I wish I would have known before I stayed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've stayed several places in the Dells, and Chula Vista is one of the best, as long as the waterpark isn't your main priority. It's a little off the beaten path, but the scenic location is quiet and pretty. The check-in staff was very warm and welcoming, and the hotel grounds and room alike were immaculate. We loved having a balcony on our room. The shower was great, and the beds, while nothing special, were comfortable. We were only staying one night while passing through from Illinois to Minnesota, so we picked the resort because the website made their indoor water park seem fun. Once we checked it out, we realized it was much smaller than we had anticipated, but it was clean and the employees were nice. Sadly, the water coaster was down, which was the thing we were looking forward to the most. We spent the rest of the night at another waterpark, but enjoyed staying in our room. Would highly recommend if you don't plan on making their waterpark your one and only stop!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Cody C.,

Great to have you with us on your recent getaway to the Dells and Chula Vista. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. I do hope that we may be able to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Excellent resort. Friendly staff, Big Mo's Restaurant is excellent as is the Market Buffet and Big Howlers Sports Bar. Stayed in a 2 bedroom condo with was very nice. Convenient walkway to indoor waterpark. Check out the craft area in the tunnel - fun stuff for the kids to do.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Aunty 9,

So glad to have you with us and your recent journey to Chula Vista. We are happy to see that you had a memorable stay and tahnk you for taking the time to provide feedback.
I hope to see you again soon and we will be sure to keep you updated.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Chula Vista provides comfort and family friendly amenities for the whole family at an affordable price! It's location "out of the Dells proper" and on the Wisconsin River makes you feel you're away from all of the hustle and bustle of the Dells. Great kids' programs, food, and accommodations, and the water park provides plenty of fun-filled activities at a more comfortable, scaled-down size! Love it here, Chula Vista!

Room Tip: The golf condos are great if you like to be a little more secluded, with an outdoor hot tub to use a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Myrna H.,

Thank you for being with us on your recent visit. So glad to see you had a memorable stay and the villa accommodations worked well for you and your family.
Hopefull we will see you again in the near future and we will be sure to keep you updated on future promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Nothing short of disappointing. The nicer, larger villas are in a separate building requiring a car or shuttle. Hallways not vacuumed and garbage piling up. Towel service only. They don't clean villas

Room Tip: The villas require you to walk, drive or take a shuttle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Wenz 53092,

Thank you for being with us on your recent visit and for providing feedback on your stay. I am sorry for the housekeeping issues you encountered during your stay and these have been addressed with the appropiate managers.
I do hope that you will be able to gives us another opportunity in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Chula Vista was our destination for what is turning into our annual New Years getaway with multiple families and lots of kids. Two families rented 3 bedroom condo with the other four families in regular rooms. The condo was roomy and included what we needed. Beds were comfortable but couches were worn. The water in the water park was uncomfortably cold even for the kids who never seem to be bothered by such things. We had pizza delivered from Moose Jaw which was recommended by the front desk. It took 2 hours for delivery which was an hour longer then they told us when we ordered. After an hour and it hadn't arrived, we called to ask when it would arrive and only got excuses. Another hour later it arrived barely warm with crusty cold cheese. So we don't recommend Moose Jaw. We would consider coming back but thinking about Kalahari next year.

Rating: condo and service (front desk at check in and maids) gets 4 stars but the aging furniture and cold water park water is a 2 so overall rating is a 3.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Loveto TravelNow,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your New Years Eve stay and we appreciate you being with us again this year. We appreciate you recoqnizing the front desk team members.
I do personally apologize for the Zip Coaster and the mechanical failure during your stay.
Hopefully you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future, we will be sure to keep you updated.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.