We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for romantic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Friendship, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice for romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at a suite here and it was very nice. Very clean, staff was great.We did not go to the water park so unsure how that is but the room and motel was great. The place is a little pricy but most things are when it comes to the Dells.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Jessica B,

Thank you for being with us on your recent getaway, glad to see you had a memorable time.
We appreciate your feedback and look forward to being of service to you again soon. Have a great fall season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    443
    286
    233
    182
See reviews for
868
131
5
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This place was just awful. We had to switch rooms due to the tons of wasp getting into our room and outside our patio. The patio was poorly maintained so we couldn't even sit outside to enjoy the view or anything. The food is so over priced and the buffet was disgusting! Food was cold and not fresh most of it hard or lacking flavor. The water park was not something to be proud of at all and half the games in the arcade did not work. The beds were horribly uncomfortable and the best time of our vacation was anytime we left the hotel. I will not returning to this place and will not be recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Michamp12,

We appereciate you taking the tiem to provide feedback on your stay, I am sorry that there were aspects of your stay that were not to our and your expecations.
Your comments have been reviewed by the appropiate managers and will be taken into consideration.
I do hope that you will be able to give us another opportunity to be of service in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana City, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Our stay here was amazing. we got a condo and it was very clean and had plenty of space. We loved the choice of an indoor and outdoor waterpark. The wave pool was a major hit as well. The staff was very friendly when we had questions. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
casual_travel2013,

Thank you so much for being with us on your reent journey to the Dells and Chula Vista.
So glad to see you had a great time while you were with us,and we look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We visited on a 95-degree day so it was great to spend some time outside and then head indoors to cool off. My kids really loved the smaller waterslides and the endless river. Lockers were plentiful and value-friendly - available all day long.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Acmendol,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. Glad to see you enjoyed yourselves, and we look forward to being of service to you again soon. Enjoy your fall season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a condo with three bedrooms. It was good to be together, but we only found out later that there is no cleaning in those rooms. They take the garbage out, and put new towels in the bathroom. Otherwise, we had a very nice weekend, with the kids enjoying the water park.

Room Tip: Stay away from the condos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Evangelina1944,

Great to have you with us for the BMW Rally, it is always a great event. We appreciate you taking the time to give feedback on your stay, the condos are great accommodations for a family getaway.
Glad you enjoyed your self and we look foward to seeing you again next year.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We went for a night and had a great time, we ate at Big Moes and the service and food was excellant. There was lots to do and see. Great view of the river from our balconey. The reservation clerk was very nice and helpfull in showing where everything was.
Cindy D.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
CindyD42461,

So glad to have you with us on your recent journey to the Dells and Chula Vista. We appreciate you taking the time out of your day to gie us feedback and glad to see it was memorable.
We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time at Chula Vista and we stayed in a condo room. The woman working at the front desk set the tone for the entire weekend for us. Incredibly rude and short with us. She didn't offer any information about the resort for us--waterpark info, dining options, where our room was. Luckily we knew other people stating there that helped us out.

Our room was aesthetically pleasing, but older TV unit and VERY dimly lit room. Bathroom is very dark. Has dispensers for soap and shampoo. My youngest daughter couldn't reach soap dispenser without us lifting her up. There are no little bars of soap in the room. Shower had decent pressure but bathtub drain was totally clogged.

We had a nice time in the waterpark with the kids. The Flyin' Mayan ride was not open. Lines in the evening were pretty short. I wouldn't recommend the Python Plunge. My daughter hit her head on the ride and I experienced some discomfort on the ride. But overall, fun for adults and kids.

After working up an appetite and wearing the kids out before bed, we wanted a quick snack. Again we had no idea what our food options were, so we drove into town (15 min away) to grab a bite to eat.

So after a long day, nothing beats crawling into a nice, clean, comfy bed. These beds were anything but. I pulled down the blankets on both beds and there was hair in both. The pillows were very tiny and flat. The mattresses were so old and worn out it felt like we were sleeping in a soup bowl. I kept waking up during the nite because my back hurt so bad. Worse nite of sleep ever! I even crawled in the bed my kids were in and it was just as bad. Even sitting on the beds you can tell the edges are much higher than the middle.

There wasn't much time to sleep in anyway because check out time is 10:30.

We took showers in the standing water in the tub and got the heck out of Dodge.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.