We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place at a good price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A nice place at a good price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Chula Vista is an indoor/outdoor waterpark that I found to be less expensive than it's competition in the area. The indoor waterpark was fun and great for kids of all ages. I (personally) liked the fact the water was pretty warm--it made it far easier to get my 3 yr old, and myself, into the water but I did hear others complain about it. The weekend we were there was INCREDIBLY packed inside, though it was likely due to the fact the weather outside was a bit cooler that day than expected. I found the outdoor area to be more pleasant--not as loud, I could get some sun, and the little guy could enjoy the water play area within my view--while my husband and older son enjoyed the outdoor water slides. There was a consession stand outside too, making it a nice place to get drinks are a bite to eat.
We had booked our room last minute and had no trouble getting a room. And when we arrived, we received a free upgrade when the guest services person noticed we had two kids--one of which was little--so he gave us a larger room that was closer to the waterpark. I was hooked at that point. It was a very thoughtful move on his part.
We dined at the buffet fairly late the first night--and the food was better than I expected and when using the coupons provided in the brochure, it was also a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Carstans09,

Great to see you had such a wonderful time on your journey to Chula Vista. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we can be of service to you again in the future. We will be sure to keep you updated on our promotions. Enjoy the fall and we will see you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    447
    286
    238
    183
See reviews for
872
135
5
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been a HUGE fan of Chula Vista in the past, and have recommended it to family and friends. We were up there for Monday (labor day) breakfast at the Market Fresh buffet, which has always been by far the best breakfast buffet in the area. THINGS CHANGED FAST. First off they have everyone stuffed in to one huge line to pick your items on the buffet, literally waited 10 minutes to just get the ONE ITEM I wanted off the buffet. For the people who did want something at the beginning of the line, by the time you got to the end it would have been cold. This was never like this before. The food was flavorless, even my favorite breakfast potatoes and scrambled eggs (sounds simple but they used to be awesome) were bad. They must have a new cook or something. Our party was rarely at the table together as some were waiting in line, others were sitting, others were waiting for there ommlet to be made. It was a shame. It used to be a relaxing, high quality, high class feel. Now you might as well go to any other buffet. It was disappointing. PLEASE go back to your old ways Chula!!! You guys were the best!!! No foolish line. Get the old recipies back! Maybe more staff??? Side note: We complained to the manager of the buffet who was very kind and apologetic about the situation.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Jim53051,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we appreicate you being with us again.
Your comments have been forwarded to the Food and Beverage team for review.
We do take your comments seriously and will discusss them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
five O,Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed in the Chula Vista for a organized event. The hotel was full, but you would not know it. This Hotel is way off the beaten trail of the downtown dells area. It is about a 10 minute drive through pretty tree lined windy road and it sits on the river. We stayed in one of the condos (2 bedroom room). Room 2319. And it was really nice. It was part of the main hotel so you do not need a shuttle to move around the property like at other waterparks. I did not hear any outside noise or hallway noise once I was in the room. However the room has a lot of hard surface so it "can" get loud with several people in the room. The rooms are equipped with a nice size kitchen that 3 people can sit at the counter. Full size appliances help with bringing food and cook your own, too keep the cost down at the restaurants. There is a walmart groceries about 10 minutes away should you need to pick up something. The room had 2 double beds in one room and a king with on suite bath/shower. The other room uses the the other full bath off the living area. The living are has a sleeper sofa and comfy chair, a ding table with 4 chairs and a fireplace. On the other side of the living room is an huge jacuzzi that easily fits 3 adults. The mattress' could use an upgrade but over all it was perfect for our family of 7.

Since we cooked in we did not go to the restaurants but I have been there in the past and the steak house although expensive was very good with excellent service. There is also a breakfast area off the the main checkin that serves a huge buffet for breakfast, and to the side of that, there is a nice pub. The water parks are plenty big for everyone and for the most part, all in one area unlike some other larger parks in the area. So running around to each area is minimal. There are a couple small extension park areas that are outdoors as well. One area that looked fun but did not get a chance to get there was the wave pool in the back of the hotel. It was not very busy, probably due to that it is somewhat hidden. Looked really nice and there was another small eating place next to that pool area -Margaritas. Parents, if you are coming to drink near the pool, bring a lot of cash cause the drinks are not cheap.

I liked this hotel. They were friendly and have a Starbucks. What more can you ask for.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Tower are closest to the water park via under ground hallway. The condos are conn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
KimberlyC412,

So nice to have you with us on your recent visit and glad to see that the condo accommodations
worked out well for you and your family. We very much appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback..
I do hope we can be of service again soon and have a wonderful fall season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family split our vacation between The Wisconsin Dells and Chicago, IL in march 2013. We spent Thursday through Sunday (including Easter) in the Dells and Sunday night through Thursday morning in Chicago. When we got to the lovely wonderful resort in the Dells we discovered that we spent an awful lot of money for an awful lot of hassle. The only truly redeeming thing was the water park. The kids loved it and had a great time at the indoor water park. Unfortunately, the rest of the experience was pretty bad. We had a 2 bedroom suite/ condo with a kitchen. The phone never worked in the 4 days/ 3 nights we were there, despite multiple reports to the desk. Since we flew in to Chicago, IL from Denver, CO and then drove up to the Dells, it would have been nice to not have to get back in the car and drive around to find food that first night. That's exactly what we got to do. We even asked the front desk if there was any place close by that was good without being ridiculously expensive or formal, just good casual family dining. They directed us to McDonalds. Not exactly what we were looking for. The mattresses on the beds were absolutely terrible. You should not feel the springs in a mattress in a room you are paying over $300 a night for. The bathroom off the "Master" bedroom had no tub, only a shower. The floor of the shower had been redone and had a lovely steep slope and incredibly slippery tiles. We had to put a towel on the shower floor to keep from falling. The kicker was the amenities provided. When I stay at a Holiday Inn, Embassy Suites or even a much lower price point hotel, there are small bottles of shampoo, conditioner and small bars of soap in the room. Not at Chula Vista. At Chula Vista you get a dispenser in the shower and no way of knowing what is in it. This got especially exciting when I went to wash my hair the morning after we arrived. I am drastically allergic to coconut. Normally, I'm ok with the small trace amounts of cocomide in most shampoos and soaps. We, however, were gifted with "Pina Colada" shampoo in our $5 dispenser. My husband rushed down to the lobby where the desk clerk deigned to SELL him 2 2- packs of Benadryl for $6 each. How very kind. Later, after stopping at an Urgent Care Clinic, I reported the problem to the Main Desk, which is in a separate building. I was assured that the housekeeper told them that there is no coconut. I asked if someone could come to the room and check and was informed "That's not our job." I was then offered an opportunity to purchase several travel/ sample size bottle of shampoo from their spa for only $1.50 each. We found a drugstore instead. We were also given a voucher of some sort that we could redeem for $50 credit at the spa or restaurant, unfortunately the woman at the service desk where you were supposed to redeem it never had the time. Add in a television in the main living area that can't be seen from half the couch (and the couch looked and felt like it had spent several years in a college dorm), not being able to get upstairs to our room for over 45 mins on Saturday because there were too many people checking in and having to park a 15 minute walk away from the building our room was in... yeah, I think next time I'll just save the money and stay somewhere else. The worst part was that the people on the phone when I made the reservation was wonderful. We had such high hopes and were really expecting this to be a great family vacation. Staying at a "Resort" was our big splurge and treat for our family and this is the only vacation we are taking in 2013 and 2014. I hope no one else ends up as disappointed as we were. The second half of our vacation was spent in Chicago in a much less expensive, non- resort hotel. Our stay there was much more enjoyable than at Chula Vista. All in all, a waste of over $1,000.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, WI
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Chula Vista isn't cheap but is a fine destination for a family because of the water park. Close to Wisconsin Dells so is convenient to other vacation sites of interest. Did not play the golf course but it looked to be very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Ruf54321,

Very nice to have you and your family with us on your recent visit to the Wisconsin Dells.. We appreciate you taking the time to gice us feedback on your stay. The family package is a great value as you experienced. Thank you for being with us and we look forward to having you with us again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom condo with a total of four adults and four children. Plenty of room for all of us. The resort is expansive so you will need to walk a lot, which sometimes is nice like the river walk over looking the Wisconsin River.

We rented a cabana, while it was a little pricey it was nice to have to secure your spot and be in shade whenever you need to. The kids that range from 2 years told to 15 had a blast. Safe and secure for the most part.

There is plenty of options to eat or drink in the resort. The place was full and we didn't feel crowded at all. We have stayed at other places and will never go back. We love this place and for the first time felt relaxed in Wisconsin Dells at this resort.

The ducks or dells tour boats can pick you up at the dock on the resort. Not to many reasons to ever leave the property.

Room Tip: Ask for higher level room with a balcony that over looks the river. Otherwise to much first floor tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Lgp112,

Great to have you with us on your recent visit to Chula Vista and the Dells. I was glad to see that you and your family had a memorable stay with us. The condo accomodations do work well for a visit like you just experienced to make some fine memories.
We will be sure to keep you updated on future promotions and hopefully we may be of service again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I will make this short and sweet. My family and I stayed at Chula Vista last summer and at first I was pleased. The room was pretty clean for the most part. However, there were some stains on the carpet. What most concerned me about this place was the cleanliness of the pools (indoor and outdoor) The water was hazy and several of us came home with eye infections from the water...GROSS! We will never go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.