We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok experience this time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ok experience this time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Have stayed at this resort multiple times in the past. They have the best 2 and 3 bedroom condos which are OK priced for larger families. This was by far the worse experience. We visited during weekdays and it was not very busy, but still had shortage of inner tubes and had to stand in line first for the tube and then for the ride. Even in lazy river area we had to wait for a long time before getting a tube. This certainly will be the last time we will be using this resort!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
AS,

Thank you for taking the time to be with us, we also appreciate your feedback on your stay.
I do apologize that the experience at the waterpark was not as you had expected, this has been conveyed to our waterpark facilities manager.
We do hope that you may be able to be with us again in the future. Have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    417
    261
    211
    172
See reviews for
826
122
5
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Paul, MN, US
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We spent a night recently at one of Chula Vista's golf villas. The waterpark admission seemed to be a good value - We were able to get our wristbands for the waterpark well before our room was ready at 4pm which was nice and could stay through close on our departure day if we chose. The villa seemed newer, very clean and had everything a family would need for several days (we didn't cook but easily could have with what was provided). The room slept 6 (3 adults, 3 kids) comfortably. The view onto the golf course was very nice. The room was quiet. There was a large group with lots of kids staying in several rooms on the 2nd floor but we didn't hear them at all.
Two of us adults had a light dinner at the "Sports Bar" (next to the buffet). We arrived early enough to get in on the daily happy hour special (1/2 price beer and appetizers) and the pizza was delicious, too. The menus at several of the restaurants are very limited so I would recommend checking the menus out before you go. We left the Mexican place by the wavepool because they had a very small menu.
The waterpark was very, very busy as it was a rainy summer weekend but we were able to find chairs. The waterslides were busy but not "Disney during Spring Break" busy. The staff said this was one of their busiest days but it seemed like they could handle it.My only complaint is there weren't nearly enough tubes for the lazy river which caused all kinds of teenagers to run, scream & splash their way through the river.
It was a fun place and we would probably return, probably with golf clubs next time (the course looked nice).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Susan B,

Thank you so much for being with us on your recent visit to the Wis Dells and Chula Vista. We do appreciate the positive feedback and can only hope that on your next visit you cna be with us on bit longer.
We will be sure to keep you up to date on future promotions. Thank you again and have safe future travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall overpriced and overhyped. Rude staff, very unpleasant experience. Leave valuables at home as either maids or janitors don't know how to shut doors. Unwilling to compensate for less than acceptable service, goods, or experience. Stayed here because we wanted the view and got a deal for sitting through "the club" preview. The club preview wasn't worth the goodies thrown at us, as they were for food on site that was barely worth eating for "free". Bad parking on site. Staff wasn't knowledgeable about hours, directions, or any aspect of amenities like the water park. Water park front desk employee told us the wave pool was closed but it was open, and pointed us in opposite direction. Lights out all over our room, including balcony light. Electrical outlets also hit or miss. At least it was a clean bed and reasonably clean (by the dim light we had) bathroom. Will not be returning. Kalahari was much better experience last year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
AliKateH,

It is disappointing to see that we did not meet your expectations and that you did not see value in the Club preview. I do know how that this can greatly diminish a getaway. We do take feedback seriously and will take this into future consideration. Have a great rest of the summer

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

we stayed for a 3 night stay 2 adults and 4 children in the double queen sofa the waterparks are very nice I like the underground tunnel to get to the indoor waterpark I enjoyed that my favorite rides werw the watercoaster the toilet one and yellow drop slide . I didnt dislike any of the slides. We will be coming back in matter fact we have allready reserved this years stay this july7 for 5nights i cant wait I hope they still have the dvd rental we loved the movies the staff was very nice chula vista resort is right by the river which is really cool andtaking a walk by the river was even better the view was amazing we Loved Chula Vista (WE WILL BE BACK)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Feedback,

Great to have you with and so glad that it was a most memorable time. It is most appreciated that you had taken the time to give us feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon and we will be sure to keep you updated on future promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I'll start off positive; the water-park aspect of this property is pretty legit. Both the outside and indoor parks are great. They're very kid friendly with 'adult' amenities (i.e. beer). My kids had an absolute blast. We spent at least 5 hours each day, of a five night stay, at one of these 'playgrounds'. For our first trip to The Dells, these parks didn't disappoint. That's where the positives end...with a screeching halt. Now for the rest of the property...

The matresses in our room had to be, at least, 15 years old, minimum. They were easily, the WORST beds I've EVER slept in...EVER. The old-school box style tv in our room (condo side) was literally covered in dust...including the screen. Our patio was under constant attack from wasps, even after we notified maintenance of the issue. The food...horribly over priced and severely lacking in taste and appeal. And we ate at four different, of the 5-6 total, restaurants. The level of clientele here leaves a little to be desired. From the young boy we observed peeing on other children at the infant pool (whose father appeared to not care less) to the people across the hall who constantly burned every meal they cooked...they were not the classiest group of folks I've ever met.

I will say that the staff (waiters, waitresses, bartenders, life guards, etc.) were ALL very gracious and friendly. All in all, this trip was a tough lesson learned. We'll definitely come back to The Dells. However, I don't think we'll ever stay at this hotel/condo every again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the hotel side. The beds over there have to be better than those on the condo side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Joe L.,

Thank you for being with us on your most recent visit. We do appreciate the feedback for future planning and manager assistance.
I was glad to see that the interactions you had with our team members were positive and memorable. It is dissappointing to see that other guests disrupted your experience. I would hoep that you may be able to give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Have safe travels and an enjoyable summer.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The overall hotel was not too bad, the waterpark is more for kids under 13.. its far from downtown and there is not much to do around the premises. we came back to the hotel after going out to dinner and the roads were dark had to be very careful and use high-beams. We went becasue we bought a "Membership" last year and decided we might as well go since we are paying a monthly membership. Please don't let them scam you into buying a membership its a total scam and not worth it.. learn from my mistake.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Yari R.

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for being a valuable Club Member. It is good to see that you are taking advantage of the program and its benefits. We will be sure to keep you updated on future programs and promotions. Have a great summer.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second time to this resort with our family which consisted of 6 adults and 4 children for a 3night stay. Arrived on a Friday afternoon knowing our room would not be ready but they did provide us with wristbands to enter the water parks. Room was ready by 4pm as promised. If you plan on cooking be prepared, kitchen not well stocked. 8plates, 8glasses etc.(hard to serve dinner for 10). Had one skillet, and sauce pan. King size bed was made with what appeared to be a full size sheet. Unable to tuck any part of the sheet. On Saturday housekeeping did empty garbage but did not supply extra towels or even extra toilet paper. I did find housekeeping late in afternoon and was told they would deliver towels and toilet paper later in the day which they did. On Sunday woke up to discover one of the toddlers had a diaper leak during the night and sheets were wet. Took sheets off the bed and told housekeeping about it. Was told they would make a note of it.
At 5pm sheets were still on the floor but garbage was emptied. I found housekeeping down the hall, knocked on the door and asked about our sheets. Was told "if you want us to change your sheets there will be a charge". Told them, I was not putting a child in wet sheets that have been on the floor. I finally was given 2sheets to put on the bed myself. Total cost for this poor service for the 3nights was over 1500.00. Since this a child friendly water resort, it would seem appropriate that units with the kichen facilities be equipped with broom or vacuum cleaner, kids do spill. Would we return? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Bonnie M,

We appreciate you being wiht us, but I am dissappointed that your stay was not as you planned it to be. The feedback that you provided is important so that our managers may use this as a training tool for new associates. The response you received was not correct and I apologize for this incident.
I hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.