We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second time to this resort with our family which consisted of 6 adults and 4 children for a 3night stay. Arrived on a Friday afternoon knowing our room would not be ready but they did provide us with wristbands to enter the water parks. Room was ready by 4pm as promised. If you plan on cooking be prepared, kitchen not well stocked. 8plates, 8glasses etc.(hard to serve dinner for 10). Had one skillet, and sauce pan. King size bed was made with what appeared to be a full size sheet. Unable to tuck any part of the sheet. On Saturday housekeeping did empty garbage but did not supply extra towels or even extra toilet paper. I did find housekeeping late in afternoon and was told they would deliver towels and toilet paper later in the day which they did. On Sunday woke up to discover one of the toddlers had a diaper leak during the night and sheets were wet. Took sheets off the bed and told housekeeping about it. Was told they would make a note of it.
At 5pm sheets were still on the floor but garbage was emptied. I found housekeeping down the hall, knocked on the door and asked about our sheets. Was told "if you want us to change your sheets there will be a charge". Told them, I was not putting a child in wet sheets that have been on the floor. I finally was given 2sheets to put on the bed myself. Total cost for this poor service for the 3nights was over 1500.00. Since this a child friendly water resort, it would seem appropriate that units with the kichen facilities be equipped with broom or vacuum cleaner, kids do spill. Would we return? Probably not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Bonnie M,

We appreciate you being wiht us, but I am dissappointed that your stay was not as you planned it to be. The feedback that you provided is important so that our managers may use this as a training tool for new associates. The response you received was not correct and I apologize for this incident.
I hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    446
    286
    238
    183
See reviews for
871
134
5
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent the day at the water park and had a great time. Slides are fun for older and younger kids great mix. The first half of the day we hardly had any lines at all. As it got later in the day the park got a little more crowded but lines still went pretty fast. Staff was not very friendly and didn't seem to be very many of them. On smaller slides in jungle gym area no life guard at all. The food was horrible. No healthy choices and outside food is not allowed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Luvrierve,

We appreciate you and your family spending the day wiht us at Los Rios Water Park and hoepfully you may be able to spend an evening to have the full experience of Chula Vista.
I do apologize that you may have encountered a team member that did not deliver a postive experience, this feedback is most helpful for our supervisors and managers.
Have a great summer and safe travels

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had to review our most recent stay as it has been awhile since we stayed in Chula's regular tower accomodations..the North/South Tower with the two queen bed suites. Upon check-in, there was a bit of a line, but nothing too bad. Our first room was located in the North tower and as we walked into the room, a strong smell of smoke was evident. Actually, it seemed as if the entire tower had an odd smell of smoke with drab walls, dim light and worn out furnishings....I called to the front desk, and they were able to move us to the South Tower. This was much closer to the resorts waterparks and other amenities. The room felt newer and brighter....modest with a fridge and microwave but I did notice that there were some housekeeping issues. For example, it appeared as if a previous guest had dropped a yogurt and never fully cleaned it up. The whitish residue was now dried up and never removed :-( I would have to say that Chula is still pretty awesome in terms of its amenities, waterparks, golf, etc. The parks have a great mixture of slides. I love the yellow "drop" slide outside! We also love how the Chula hugs the Wisconsin River. My husband and I enjoyed a morning stroll behind the resort at the River Walk sipping our Starbucks from the Market Fresh to Go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Blessedbunch 5,

Thank you so much for being with us on your recent family getaway to the Dells and Chula Vista.
We are in the process of updatiing both the North and South Towers, we do appreciate your feedback. The comments on your room were brought to the attention of the appropiate managers.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have been visiting the Chula Vista for years. We were introduced to the Kaminski family on this visit with the car convention we were attending.
The room was huge--comfortable and convenient. Everyone--from Nick the chef at Moe's to the front desk staff were wonderful. Kind courteous, friendly and helpful.
The condos offer you the opportunity to enjoy your own breakfast, snacks and cocktails.
The banquet food was steaming hot and delicious.
Mike Kaminski personally attended the banquet, helped direct traffic, and repeatedly told us thank you. We felt welcomed and appreciated.
It is nice to see a local family be successful, support the local community and be gracious for their success.

Room Tip: The condos are a great value. You get a full size refrig, stove, dishwasher. We enjoyed our own fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
ImCarolyn,

Great to see you had such a wonderful time at the Corvette Weekend we look forward to seeing next year.
We appreciate the positive feedback and comments on your stay. Have a wonderful summer !!

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 1 1/2 years ago and found drugs in the room - easily visible on the floor between the beds. Management and security did not appear at all concerned. Did not offer any compensation and acted as if we were putting them out when we asked to change rooms. After we returned home, after multiple phone calls, I was given a certificate for 1 free night. We used that this past weekend and found this experience even worse than the first. Staff at registration were unfriendly, bordering on rude. Our room was fairly clean but definitely worn. The electric sockets stopped working when the air conditioning cycled on. Could only charge phones, use computer, or dry hair when a/c was off. Sink did not drain correctly. Awake until 12:30 pm by loud noises from room above, awakened at 1:30 am by loud argument in the hall and then agan at 6:30 by loud noises from above. Clearly, sound proofing was not a priority when the tower was built. Don't stay if you want to sleep. Checked out after one night. The same unfriendly registration staff member asked about our stay. When I described the problems, she blamed everything on guests who show no respect for others. Honestly, I wouldn't stay again if they gave me another free night. Glad to be home. Will not be staying at Chula Vista again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

All of our 11 family members arrived to Chula Vista on Saturday of Memorial Day weekend...50 degrees and rainy...few parking spots to be found upon a noon arrival (parking got worse throughout the weekend!) 2 elevators and long lines at the elevators made the trek to the rooms very tedious (elevators at checkout were even worse!). Because of the inclement weather, all outdoor pools, activities, and outdoor restaurants were closed---leaving everyone to head to the indoor pools/slides. What chaos it was indoors! Little-to-no space to move, no chairs to sit in/leave items in. Very few lifeguards watching the pools and waterslides. A definite liability. Once in the condo, we were pleased with the space and accommodations. Roomy bedrooms and bathrooms and a nice hot tub. Hallways were very long and winding, but we expected them. Many loud families staying here this weekend. The neighbors across the hall set off the fire alarm due to their cooking. Luckily we didn't have to evacuate, but the halls/rooms smelled of burnt oil. Restaurants were very pricey (11 of us ate for over $250 for each meal)...long lines at the breakfast buffet...difficulties accommodating our large group. Don't think this was the place for us given the hefty price tag and the not-so wonderful activities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Illini9799,

Thank you for choosing Chula Vista for your recent journey to the Wisconsin Dells. I was glad to see that the condo accommodations worked well for your visit. It is important for our team to get feedback as yours to keep improving, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this particular visit.
We hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future to be of service.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Well, the first night of our stay in the condos was okay. Loud but it quieted down by 11 pm. The second night was horrible! At 10:50 pm I called security because of yelling in the room across the hall. 30 minutes later, I called again because I don't think security even responded. Then, 45 min later I called yet again. Finally security came but knocked on our door waking up one of our kids. Telling us there had been a noise complaint. After I redirected him, telling him that we were the ones who complained, the neighbors
quieted down but not completely. For the money you spend at that resort, I'd expect a much better night of sleep and "neighbors" with a little class. I was afraid for our safety!
I recommend the Wilderness or Kalahari.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
SpaLove100,

First of all thank you for being with us on your recent journey, I am sorry that your entire was not pleasurable due to actions of others.
We do look to minimize any disturbance from another party so as not to detract from your experience, clearly this did not happen and I apologize.
I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future and we will be sure to keep you informed.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.