We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and Crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pricey and Crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at Chula Vista resort for a weekend basketball tournament this past weekend. We had a 2-room condo and were very satisfied with the room. It would have been too expensive but we got a group rate so that made it affordable. That was about where our total satisfaction ended.

Parking at Chula Vista is a nightmare - and in winter to have to walk over 1/4 mile in the cold is totally unacceptable. It was winter so only the indoor waterpark was open, and it is VERY undersized for the number of guests. The lazy river was an absolute SCRUM, and my 4-year old got crushed by rampaging teens and tubes on numerous occasions. My parents wanted to do nothing but sit in the hot tub at the waterpark, but they have one that was so overcrowded it looked like somebody was cooking 50 hotdogs in a 2-quart pot - overcrowded doesn't describe it well enough. Maybe in summer when the outdoors are open it won't be so bad, but I won't risk trying to stay again. They do have outside hottubs they call the Hot Springs and they looked great, but my parents had no interest in walking outside to get to a hottub.

Food options were pricy onsite as well. We ordered 2 pizzas, one Medium and one Large and were told it would be 45 minutes. Total LIE - it took over 90 minutes before we finally got pizza - nearly 10:30 at night. And those two pizzas were over $45. Seriously, this would be under $20 delivered from many joints so they are way overpriced, and the quality was awful. I can normally eat pizza until you run out but I could only stomach 2 pieces and then had heartburn all night. Terrible. And don't plan to eat at the Steakhouse unless your last name is Rockefeller. A double-cut prime rib is something like $75 and the bone-in Rib-eye was $49. I could understand this pricing at a downtown Chicago address, but not in a family resort in the Dells.

If we ever travel to The Dells again we will stay somewhere else - maybe Wilderness?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Craig J 1964,

Thank you for being with us on your most recent stay. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations, for I know how disappointing this can be.
I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity to provide a memorable stay for you. Have safe travels

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    443
    286
    233
    182
See reviews for
868
131
5
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed at this resort as we were in the Dells for a cheer competition and rooms were blocked here. Had stayed at the Kalahari and Wilderness previously. We were booked in the golf villas. Yes, it was still cold (no golf) but I must say that it was nice to be a bit away from the main resort area and there was ample parking for the villas. Big plus. Check in, as some mentioned, took a bit, and this was at 7pm in the evening. But not nearly as time consuming as the other resorts I mentioned. Specifically:

Check-in: No issues. Waited a little bit, but probably no more than 20 minutes.

Room: In Golf Villas. Big enough room. Stove, small refrig, microwave, flat screen tv. Small kitchenette for sitting, working on the computer, etc. We were literally right across from the main building, so we walked rather than wait on a shuttle. Not a big deal, and the few minutes or fresh air were nice. Clean. Nothing special. We were there pretty much to sleep, so it was just fine.

Waterpark: Got there right when it opened and it was nice....for the first 2 hours. Then it seemed everyone woke up and WOW. Super crowded. No seats if you arrived late. It seemed clean. We left when the crowds started because it was honestly suffocating.

Arcarde: Awesome. Not crowded. Perfect for kids in the 7-11 age group I'd say. Air hockey table, and bizarrely enough....pretty quiet.

Restaurant: Can only comment on Market Fresh (everything buffet style). Nice. Breakfast was reasonable, dinner not so much. If you aren't really going to eat your money's worth, don't go. But I guess that is true of all buffets. We ate away from the resort for most meals.

Internet: Honestly, don't bother. Reception was TERRIBLE and only upon occasion could you get a reliable signal.

It is farther away than the normal resort area, so it's a short drive if you want to visit the outlet mall or have events at the other larger resorts.

Comparing to Kalahari and Wilderness, they all have their pros and cons. Kalahari rooms were SCARY in my opinion. I hated the thought if having to be in them. They have more to do there...a larger waterpark and arcade, movie theater, etc...but it was loud ALL THE TIME. Wilderness took FOREVER (over an hour) for check-in and the service was terrible. Waterpark was nice and didn't seem as crowded as Kalahari.

Room Tip: Book outside the main hotel in the villas. While you do need to walk to get to the main building/wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
SMW2K,

Glad to see you had a wonderful time while attending the Cheer competition, the villas are great accommodations any time of the year. All of your feedback is important to us and thank you for providing it.
We hope to be of service to you again soon. Safe travels

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in the Golf Villa's and to be honest they were gross. The room smells musty, the carpet is dirty and the room is dark. We could also not find the theromstat so half the room was freezing and the other hot. Tiny bathroom to the point that if you are sitting on the comode you can hardly close the door. The carpets in the hallways were dirty and stained and the rooms narrow and small. All this for the low low price of $240 a night. One high note was the outdoor hottub was clean and hot and they have a kitchen area in the room that is clean and new and a fireplace in the corner that is nice and works. Everything else is old and smelly. Very dissapointing. We did not use the water park as this was a girls shopping trip. We have stayed in the main hotel before and the rooms were ok and the waterpark fun, especially for little kids but our days of staying at the ChulaVista are over.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Shakenbaken,

I am very sorry we did not meet your expectations on your most recent visit. The appropiate managers have been informed of your feedback so that these may be used for future training.
I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort this past weekend with my family and their kids for a family trip/girls spa weekend. A day before we left we wanted to confirm our reservation. I called 3 times and was on hold for several minutes each time and was never was able to get through to talk to the front desk. Upon checking in our reservation we were informed we only had one $50 spa credit whereas we were quoted 2 spa credits when booking. We were finally given the second credit we were told when booking. Also we never received an email confirmation when booking with the price of our hotel room. When checking in our room was over $200 a night which we remember being under $200 but we are unable to verify because we never got a confirmation with the price we were quoted over the phone.

After our expensive spa treatment during the day we were awoken at 3 am to a very loud party in the room above us. It did not help that the walls were paper thin (we could hear their toilet flush) but adults were screaming at the top of their lungs. We called the front desk twice to take care of this matter and after maybe an hour they were somewhat quieter. We paid about $500 for the room for weekend and it was not worth the price at all. While this could be a good place for a family with small children or a wild bachelor/bachelorette party, it was a scam for any sort of relaxing weekend. We will not be returning here.

Room Tip: Do not come here for a relaxing weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
JackieQ,

Thank you for taking the tiem to provide us feedback , I am sorry that certain areas did not execute the standards we have set.
I would like to invite you back so that we can fullfill the desired expecatations.
We appreciate the comments and we will be sure to review these for training purposes.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My adult daughter and I took advantage of the mid-winter "Great Escape" package offered in the January - early March timeframe for $199 plus $20 gratuities and $40 in taxes. This included a 2 night stay, two full buffet dinners, two full buffet breakfasts and a lunch. Virtually all (reasonable) beverages (coffee, soda, wine, beer and well drinks) were also included. The front desk check in was very disorganized and a long wait - we got there early and hoped the room would be ready, but it wasn't, so had to return four hours later and stand in line again. When we got to the room, it was not the kind we expected (a fireplace, but not a whirlpool I had upgraded to), so we were told to return to the lobby and stand in line a third time. Frustrated, I was told that the fine print on the upgrade indicated it wasn't guaranteed. From then on, the trip was much better. The food throughout was truly excellent and there was plenty of it. The wait service staff in the restaurants and bars were plentiful, but very spotty. They would just disappear. Very strange. They were accommodating, though, as my daughter has food allergy issues. Overall, we would return, because it was an incredible value and a very relaxing get-away, but don't expect perfect service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Sherlockian,

It was great to have you with us on your most recent visit and thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback. I was glad to see that your overall experience was positive, but I do apologize about your check-.in.
We hope to see you again in the near future, have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our family stayed at this resort March 14-16, 2013 and we had an amazing time. We first checked into a villa which was really nice but we needed separate rooms when traveling with children so called and spoke with Lisa at the front desk who was able to upgrade us for a fee (which was fine with us). We moved to the condo side and stayed in a 2 bedroom condo which was wonderful. We had a full kitchen, 2 fireplaces, jacuzzi and 2 bathrooms. The room was very clean and comfortable except the main sitting chair was broken. If you ever run into any problems ask for Jose at the front desk he is amazing. We had bought some gifts certificates for the market fresh buffet but lost them and Jose went above and beyond to help us recover our loss. He contacted the company for us to get copies of the certificates we had bought and ask the General Manager if he would accept copies instead of the actual vouchers. He got this all done for us and we were able to enjoy our dinner without spending an additional $100. The General Manager has some outstanding people working for him. Our children enjoyed the water park and the Easter Bunny visit during breakfast on Friday. We definitely will be back. Again, thank you the Lisa at the front desk with help with the upgrade, Jose at the front desk and General Manager for having amazing people working for him who made our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Condo side, very spacious and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
SportsfamilyMN,

Thank you for all the postive comments on our team memebers, it is great to see that Jose and Lisa were able to be of service to you.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the very near future. Again, thank you and have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markesan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Went there over Christmas break with family. We had two condos, and they were completely immaculate and very comfortable. So much fun, we hope the regular rooms are just as nice as the condo was. Great staff-very accomodating. They gladly and quickly brought us an air mattress, extra bedding and extra towels, and were always willing to go above and beyond. Nice to have an indoor walkway to the waterpark, which was great. The kids in our familes are between 5 and 10 years old, so it was nice not to have a humungous waterpark like some of the other big ones in the Dells. There was fun stuff for all of us, and we could stay contained in the same area. Great for family with younger kids.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Tine J,

It was great to hear from you and so glad to see your family visit over the holidays was memorable.
I appreciate you taking the time to recogonize our team members and providing feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.