We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Out of the way location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I came here for a fun time with the kids. We came on a Sunday night to avoid crowds but everything closed hours earlier, including the restaurants on the premise. And since this place is miles from any another dining options we had to end up ordering in. The real bummer is that check out time is 10:30 and the water park first opens at 10am.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
N12341,

Thank you for spending your recent getaway with us and we hope to be of srvice to you again soon. We will be sure to keep you updated on our progress and future promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    426
    281
    220
    182
See reviews for
853
124
5
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed in the North Tower in early February. The room was very dated but very clean. The bathroom was updated with new looking tile and looked very nice. The mattresses and pillows felt/looked new and were comfortable. The fridge worked well, nice and cold. The microwave was from the early 90’s, tiny and heated things unevenly. The patio door lock was broken, but after calling the front desk a very kind maintenance team was in our room super fast and had it fixed within 10 minutes of making the call. The housekeeping staff was also very friendly. The indoor water park is small but has a lot to offer, an appealing theme and attentive, kind lifeguards. The water “coaster” was fun but painfully slammed our backs into the hard safety bar each time it accelerated. The locker room/bathrooms at the water park were very clean, including the shower area. The water park opens at 10 am and closes at 8pm, so it opens later and closes earlier than other places in the area during the off-season. The water park café was understaffed and we waited 35 minutes for a mediocre hot sandwich. They have an “all you can drink” alcohol deal that draws lots of people who like to drink a lot of alcohol. However I should note that no drunk people caused any problems at all during our stay, they were just staggering around harmlessly.
The check in/check out times are not in line with other area resorts and are very frustrating. Check out is at 10:30am. When I asked for a late checkout they could do no later than 11am. Their check in time is 4pm. Most places have later out and earlier in times and will let you extend your checkout to 12 or even 1pm without an issue.
Overall for the price we paid I did not feel the Chula Vista was a good value for our family. I wouldn’t pay more $100 a night for this place in the off-season and that would have to include the “resort fee”.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
ChicagoMom2003,

Thank you for being with us on your recent family getaway and providing feedback to us.
Regarding the Tower rooms we will be updating the accommodations this spring and we will be sure to keep you informed on our progress.
A special note of thanks to mention our staff for thye do appreciate hearing from you.
We hope to see you again soon. Have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabula, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our 4 th year coming to the super bowl/touchdown package. We love everything about it from the football players to the all inclusive package , you can't beat the price. And I would recommend upgrading to the condos, the are beautiful. The staff is friendly and they always have a smile from the front desk to the staff that cleans the rooms. Highly recommended!!! Thanks Chula Vista you're the best!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Teenafranzen,

Great to have you back and we look forward to your 5th Anniversary with us next year on the Touchdown Package. It is a great value and glad to see you enjoy yourself so much.
We will keep you updated throughout the year, on other promotions.
Have safe travels,

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a room far away from the water park. It had a fireplace and a hot tub.
The children 6-15 years enjoyed it very much.

There are a lot of expensive diversions and I smuggled my small aged dog into the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
MilwaukeeandBabies,

Thank you for the note and glad to see you and your kids had great time.
We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McFarland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Extended family got a three bedroom condo for a weekend in February '13. Place was pretty nice, surprised at how quiet it was. Kitchenette was well maintained however could have used a little bit more like a bigger coffee maker (4 cups? yikes) and more silverware. Tv was a bit small but not a big deal. Whirlpool was nice and liked the fireplaces. Vaulted ceiling made it seem pretty big. Waterpark was a good place for the kids to run around, of course in the winter it's indoors only so it's a little limiting as an all-day activity. Also don't understand why they don't have more intertubes in the lazy river, not nearly enough and people were just walking down the river. Also parking seemed to be a problem. Not sure if they didn't have all the lots plowed out or what, but space was very limited and we were forced to be a parking lot stalker just to get a far away spot for our hotel Saturday afternoon. Other than that things went nicely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Scotthenrichs,

We appreciate the feedback and thank you for being with us on your getaway to the Dells.
Your comments are taken into consideration in our planning to provide a quality experience.
I do hope that we may be able to be of service sometime again soon.
Have safe travels,

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryside, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had just got home from CV. This was our first time there. I bought the Great Escape Package. The Package is GREAT! 5 meals and all drinks are included per person. Good deal. The Service of the staff was exceptional, specially one of the Life Guards. Not sure of her name, she worked on 2/13, had dark hair and braces. You could tell she really enjoyed her job and made everyone feel comfortable and made sure everyone was having fun. Also the red haired girl that works in the Crash Landing. Thank you for being so nice and helpful. You where fun to talk to. Our room was very clean. Housekeeping was always around if you had a question. All of the staff always smiled and said "Hi or how are you" as you passed. The food was wonderful. We will go back again. The only neg. thing. We where standing on our porch and someone from the above porch threw cigarettes off of their porch and landed in front of ours, sticking up in the snow. It's a shame that CV goes to many lengths keeping the property maintained and cleaned to have cigarette butts thrown around off balcony's and thrown around entrances.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms connected with the pool. There is a lot of walking, but a lot of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Patti,

Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm so happy you had such a positive experience while you stayed at the resort. The Great Escape package is such a great deal, isn't it? You and many other customers are really enjoying it.

Thanks for mentioning the cigarette butts dropping down on you. While it is true we take great pride in keeping the resort as clean as possible, there are some of those circumstances that we cannot control. I hope that didn't deter from your Chula Vista experience too much.

Thanks again for the great comments. We love to hear about our customers' experiences—both positive and negative—because that's how we know what we're doing right and what we can improve upon.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay at Chula Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Great Escape Package is an awesome deal if you like to drink and eat. We absolutely got our moneys worth. Our room was in the South Tower and was definitely old with stained carpets. It seemed clean enough and there was a beautiful view of the river. There were issues such as a broken screen door on the balcony and door handles falling off, but nothing that hurt our stay.

This hotel staff needs a good course in guest service! Most of the staff were very friendly but others not so much. This is certainly not enough staff available to serve the needs of the guests. Wait times at check-in and the pool bar were way too long. I tried to call about internet access and no one answered. We were not able to access the free wi-fi in all areas of our suite. When we did finally get someone to answer the phone, they really didn't seem to care. We ended up only being able to use our laptops while sitting on the beds in one room of our suite. Not exactly ideal.

Monday morning we went down to the breakfast buffet at around 9:30. We were told there was a 40 minute wait. Seriously, for a buffet??? We could see plenty of empty tables in the restaurant. I'm guessing there wasn't the staff available. I really don't know. The hostesses were not very friendly.

Overall this was a good package. The food and drinks were great and the water park was nice. Just be prepared to wait in line all the time and for mediocre guest service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Teresa M,

It was a pleasure to be of service to you on your recent visit to Chula. The Great Escape package is one of our most popular packages and provides a great value.
Your feedback is important and I do apologize that we had inconsistency with some of team members during your stay we strive to deliver a fluent service message and standard.
We will be upgrading the Tower rooms this spring and we will keep you updated on our progress.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.