We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Cheesy As I Thought” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Ranked #42 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not As Cheesy As I Thought”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a room far away from the water park. It had a fireplace and a hot tub.
The children 6-15 years enjoyed it very much.

There are a lot of expensive diversions and I smuggled my small aged dog into the room.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
MilwaukeeandBabies,

Thank you for the note and glad to see you and your kids had great time.
We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    431
    281
    225
    181
See reviews for
857
126
5
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McFarland, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Extended family got a three bedroom condo for a weekend in February '13. Place was pretty nice, surprised at how quiet it was. Kitchenette was well maintained however could have used a little bit more like a bigger coffee maker (4 cups? yikes) and more silverware. Tv was a bit small but not a big deal. Whirlpool was nice and liked the fireplaces. Vaulted ceiling made it seem pretty big. Waterpark was a good place for the kids to run around, of course in the winter it's indoors only so it's a little limiting as an all-day activity. Also don't understand why they don't have more intertubes in the lazy river, not nearly enough and people were just walking down the river. Also parking seemed to be a problem. Not sure if they didn't have all the lots plowed out or what, but space was very limited and we were forced to be a parking lot stalker just to get a far away spot for our hotel Saturday afternoon. Other than that things went nicely.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Scotthenrichs,

We appreciate the feedback and thank you for being with us on your getaway to the Dells.
Your comments are taken into consideration in our planning to provide a quality experience.
I do hope that we may be able to be of service sometime again soon.
Have safe travels,

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryside, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had just got home from CV. This was our first time there. I bought the Great Escape Package. The Package is GREAT! 5 meals and all drinks are included per person. Good deal. The Service of the staff was exceptional, specially one of the Life Guards. Not sure of her name, she worked on 2/13, had dark hair and braces. You could tell she really enjoyed her job and made everyone feel comfortable and made sure everyone was having fun. Also the red haired girl that works in the Crash Landing. Thank you for being so nice and helpful. You where fun to talk to. Our room was very clean. Housekeeping was always around if you had a question. All of the staff always smiled and said "Hi or how are you" as you passed. The food was wonderful. We will go back again. The only neg. thing. We where standing on our porch and someone from the above porch threw cigarettes off of their porch and landed in front of ours, sticking up in the snow. It's a shame that CV goes to many lengths keeping the property maintained and cleaned to have cigarette butts thrown around off balcony's and thrown around entrances.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms connected with the pool. There is a lot of walking, but a lot of fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex M, Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi Patti,

Thanks for the wonderful review. I'm so happy you had such a positive experience while you stayed at the resort. The Great Escape package is such a great deal, isn't it? You and many other customers are really enjoying it.

Thanks for mentioning the cigarette butts dropping down on you. While it is true we take great pride in keeping the resort as clean as possible, there are some of those circumstances that we cannot control. I hope that didn't deter from your Chula Vista experience too much.

Thanks again for the great comments. We love to hear about our customers' experiences—both positive and negative—because that's how we know what we're doing right and what we can improve upon.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay at Chula Vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, IN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Great Escape Package is an awesome deal if you like to drink and eat. We absolutely got our moneys worth. Our room was in the South Tower and was definitely old with stained carpets. It seemed clean enough and there was a beautiful view of the river. There were issues such as a broken screen door on the balcony and door handles falling off, but nothing that hurt our stay.

This hotel staff needs a good course in guest service! Most of the staff were very friendly but others not so much. This is certainly not enough staff available to serve the needs of the guests. Wait times at check-in and the pool bar were way too long. I tried to call about internet access and no one answered. We were not able to access the free wi-fi in all areas of our suite. When we did finally get someone to answer the phone, they really didn't seem to care. We ended up only being able to use our laptops while sitting on the beds in one room of our suite. Not exactly ideal.

Monday morning we went down to the breakfast buffet at around 9:30. We were told there was a 40 minute wait. Seriously, for a buffet??? We could see plenty of empty tables in the restaurant. I'm guessing there wasn't the staff available. I really don't know. The hostesses were not very friendly.

Overall this was a good package. The food and drinks were great and the water park was nice. Just be prepared to wait in line all the time and for mediocre guest service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Teresa M,

It was a pleasure to be of service to you on your recent visit to Chula. The Great Escape package is one of our most popular packages and provides a great value.
Your feedback is important and I do apologize that we had inconsistency with some of team members during your stay we strive to deliver a fluent service message and standard.
We will be upgrading the Tower rooms this spring and we will keep you updated on our progress.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was my family's 2nd visit over night at the Chula Vista in a 2BD condo. The reservation staff was helpful in allowing for me to upgrade (for a fair charge) a regular room certificate to a condo to allow for more people. Bringing grandparents (3) up with our family of 5, we all fit comfortably. I love the spaciousness, equipped kitchen, tile work and in-room hot tub. We did use an air mattress for the youngest so the sofa bed did not have to be shared and there was still plenty of room. The only minor drawback is the main table only seats 4, although three can sit up at the peninsula in the kitchen as well and two more on a high cafe type table near the room's main window. The furnishings were adequate and I liked the WI Dells photos on the walls.
The waterpark is the perfect size, not too big, with just the right amount of thrill. The lines were very short for slides if there was one at all. One friendly lifeguard gave us a helpful tip: If you find yourself going down backwards for the final stretch of the "toilet bowl" slide, lean forward to avoid flipping when entering the pool! After enjoying time in Los Rios, we went up to the room in shifts asking the first group of two to start filling the hot tub. It acted as a great "holding tank" for those still waiting to shower off after the park. The fitness room was marginal at best...definitely needing attention. Two treadmills and one bike worked fine but the elliptical was not quite right. A water dispenser would be nice and the lock on the door was broken. After a brief dip in the waterpark on checkout day, we grabbed lunch at Market Fresh. The food was tasty but our waiter was exceptional...Daniel maybe? We were also were asked to view the Club as part of our stay and found the staff to be very friendly, informative and not pushy at ALL. We politely declined but said we would definitely return to the Chula.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Blessbunch5,

It was great to see you had such a great time and thank you for being with us. I am happy to see that the condo accommodations worked out well for you.
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback for we do use these in our future planning. We look forward to being of service again and will keep you updated on our progress and promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Indiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was our second trip to the Dells, and we stayed at the Kalihari the time before. The Chula vista's waterpark was smaller, but the price was much cheaper making it more affordable for us to stay here. It was a little off the beaten path, but it was fine for us. The room was great, but we were put in a room that was not connected to the water park. It was cold outside, so everytime we wanted to go swim, we would drive over to the water park. The shuttle was offered, but it ran slow. Overall, we enjoyed it. It was not as good as the Kalihari, but for the price, we had a blast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room connected to the water park area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Tommycash 1982,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent getaway to the Dells. It is great to see you had a memorable time.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future and we will keep you updated on our promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our family stayed one night at Chula Vista because of it's convenient location to The Wisconsin Dell's Center, where our daughter was playing in a volleyball tournament. We checked in on a Saturday and it was extremely busy. My husband waited more than a half hour to check in. They were understaffed, having only one person working the desk on a busy Saturday. We finally got checked in and were pleasantly suprised by the room. It was very spacious and very clean, with nice furnishings. My only complaint about the room was the teeny-tiny pillows.

My kids really enjoyed the waterpark. Although, not the biggest in the Dells, they had a nice variety of slides and something for all ages. The water coaster was not operating, so my kids were a bit disappointed. The bar by the pool was also understaffed. Again, we had to wait quite a long time, as there was one bartender and the waterpark was packed.

We did really enjoy The Chula Vista. Our only other complaint was the parking situation. As I indicated, the hotel was very busy that weekend (lots of sports tournaments in town?) and we the parking lot was too small to accomodate all of the guests. We did manage and ended up having a nice weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Anicole5,

It was great to see you and your family had such a great time while attending the volleyball tournament. Our team members appreciate you taking the time to recognize them. We hope to see you again on a personal basis or for another tournament.
Thank you and have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.