We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Wedding Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Wedding Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had our wedding reception in the Riverview ballroom which is a larger room with walkout near the river. It was gorgeous! The staff was extremely helpful and available the whole time if we needed anything, and yet they were never in the way and it was very sublte and classy service. The food was amazing--they have a lot of options for reception and hors d'oeuvres and their prices are comparable to every other venue in town. We are still getting comments from relatives about how well it tasted. Relatives also loved having the waterpark option for kids--many families made a weekend getaway out of the trip. The condo's are fabulous as well--they have the most space of the condo's in the dells area so there is plenty of space for people to sit and visit comfortably and not have the feeling like you're scrunched in a hotel. I would definately recommend both sets of your parents to get condo's for the wedding weekend so that they can help host the guests coming in from out of town. It is also nice to have the buffet and bar area available--there is lots of room to visit in that area as well whether for breakfast or dinner. There is also the Chop House--a restaurant up on the top floor of the hotel which has great food and a great view--but be prepared to eat--there proportions are enormous. Otherwise don't forget about the clubhouse by the golf course. We spent a lot of time there friday night before the wedding, it was a great place to relax and visit with the family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Amaacdaddy,

We are very honored to be able to host your family's wedding, it is great to see that everyone had such a memorable time. Our team is most thankful for your acknowlegement of their service for your event. In particular Joe who prepared your meal gives a big Thank you.
Please visit us again soon we look forward to seeing you.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    443
    286
    233
    182
See reviews for
868
131
5
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

The staff is slow and not really knowing what they are doing! The food is really bad and the buffet is expensive with not many choices for kids, what they did have wasn't good either! The map they give you of the resort is not very clear was walking around with 3 kids looking for the indoor water park and food! We stayed in the 2 bedroom condo with whirlpool tub that was nice but they charge 20.00 a night for a crib???? You would think that would all be included!!! I would have to say I wish I would of spend my time at one of the other resorts in the dells! We will NEVER be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
BKP 2011,

I am sorry to see that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay and would look to review the areas in question with you.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed overnight in a 2-bedroom suite (1 king and 2 queen beds) with whirlpool in the living room area. Check in was extremely busy and a bit of a wait to get into the rooms, but the staff were very helpful with clear directions and answering questions. The luggage drop-off area was difficult to maneuver through due to cars congestion and waiting for baggage trolleys to become available. The parking lot was very congested and not fully plowed (January in Wisconsin?). Once in the room, things were better. The accommodations were very spacious and clean, but starting to show some wear. The full kitchen was fantastic! We cooked our own meals, allowing us to have more flexibility-time and selections. Two full bathrooms was a plus with 5 people in the suite. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. Quiet night - no disturbances. Fun water-park for the teens and tiki bar for Mom. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators to water park seemed quieter, but a longer walk. It's a huge complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Christine Q034,

It was great to see that you had such a wonderful experience and that our team members were helpful during your visit. The condos to provide a great gathering place for everyone.
We look forward to beign of service to you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for the Great Escape package 1/21/13-1/23/13. We stayed in room 4421 two queen beds in one room then in the additional room one king bed. Upon entering the room it smelled very musty! The carpet was pretty gross looking with stains all over. We kept our shoes on at all times. We went with a large group of people and many of them had rooms/suites in the tower were the rooms started with the numbers 3000. From what I saw their rooms were newer and overall much nicer. Next time I will request a room in that tower. Overall the package was a great deal as we were given a bracelet to wear for the days we stayed which allowed us free rail drinks. We also received vouchers for 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, and 2 lunches as well as entrance into the water park. The free meals were from the fresh market buffet and there was always a lot to choose from at all meals and the food on a scale of 1 worst to 5 best I would give it a 4. Of course there things that tasted better than others but it was overall good. I would definitely go again but make sure I get a better room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dina R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. The Great Escape package is a wonderful value for a midweek getaway.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and will keep you updated on our upcoing promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for the first time this past weekend. Pros- the condo rooms were real nice, we had a lot of space for our four kids to roam around. Unfortunately, that's about all of the pros.
Cons- a little too far away from the attractions, I know it's winter and everything is closed, but I would not stay here in the summer. The waterpark was ok not great. I have stayed at a few other resorts in the area with much better water parks. The prices for food were outrageous. Room service for 2 was damn near $50.
My advice would be to stay at either great wolf or kalahari. Both if those have their advantages, but that's on another review.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
GWillKirst,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedbback on your recent visit and we do take your comments seriously. In our food and beverage offerings we look to offer a range of options from our waterpark outlets, Moe's, Market Fresh and KBC.
I do hope that we may be able to have an opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our 3rd or 4th time at the Chula Vista resort. We haven't been in a long time, possibly more than 6 years, and are not planning on going back. We rented a 3 bedroom for a large group of adults and children. The room was very clean upon arrival, but they never cleaned the whole time we were there. These were condos that we stayed in so I do understand not cleaning our rooms, however there was nothing in the room to clean up after ourselves. They had no brooms, vacuum, dusters, anything! Every condo arrangement we have ever been to provides cleaning materials. The plates and glassware were in short supply also. The fully stocked kitchen didn't come very stocked. We had no oven mitts for the oven and the list of "didn't haves" keeps going. I called down to the front desk to get a wine key and some wine glasses sent up. When the woman came up with wine glasses I was told, "there should be a wine key in the room". After she saw that indeed no wine was key present, she willing to go and get me one. Everything in the room was plastic (plates/glasses) nothing was high end at all. It was so much nicer and well equipped when it first opened up. I went down to the front desk to ask for a vacuum, broom or anything to clean up with and never got it. I asked for over mitts and never got any. I informed the front desk of a broken chair in our room and they did fix that. All in all, the room was completely subpar! The water park was fun and clean. The kids had a very nice time there. It seemed to be well staffed and enough action for kids under the age of 12yrs. Our best experience was the restaurant, Kamiski Brothers. I would go there again for sure, however we'd be driving back to another resort after the night was over. The food was fantastic and the service was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Kazof6,

Your comments and feedback on your recent stay is most appreciated, I am glad to see you were able to experience KBC.
We do offer daily cleaning of the condos as an option for reference for a future visit.
Thank you for being with us and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort looks like they have not done anything to it since it opened. Rooms in the tower are as basic as a Motel 6 and not too clean. My kid spilled water on the carpet and when I went to dab it up with a white wash cloth the dirt that was picked up was black.

If you decide to stay, reconfirm your reservation in advance as we were one of at least 3 where our reservation was switched to a smaller room.

Don't make plans to eat at the Kaminsky Bros Steak House. Their prices are more than a Morton's or Gibson's and the value just wasn't there. Wait staff was a bit snooty and the service wasn't worth it.

Wat

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to stay in one of the condos unless you like paying $200 for a Motel 6 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Jetwrldtrvlr,

Thank you for being with us on your recent getaway, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We will be upgrading our Tower Rooms this spring so I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future.
We will be sure to keep you updated on our progress.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.