We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun times!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun times!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed overnight in a 2-bedroom suite (1 king and 2 queen beds) with whirlpool in the living room area. Check in was extremely busy and a bit of a wait to get into the rooms, but the staff were very helpful with clear directions and answering questions. The luggage drop-off area was difficult to maneuver through due to cars congestion and waiting for baggage trolleys to become available. The parking lot was very congested and not fully plowed (January in Wisconsin?). Once in the room, things were better. The accommodations were very spacious and clean, but starting to show some wear. The full kitchen was fantastic! We cooked our own meals, allowing us to have more flexibility-time and selections. Two full bathrooms was a plus with 5 people in the suite. The king-sized bed was very comfortable. Quiet night - no disturbances. Fun water-park for the teens and tiki bar for Mom. Overall a good stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevators to water park seemed quieter, but a longer walk. It's a huge complex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Christine Q034,

It was great to see that you had such a wonderful experience and that our team members were helpful during your visit. The condos to provide a great gathering place for everyone.
We look forward to beign of service to you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    431
    281
    225
    181
See reviews for
857
126
5
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed for the Great Escape package 1/21/13-1/23/13. We stayed in room 4421 two queen beds in one room then in the additional room one king bed. Upon entering the room it smelled very musty! The carpet was pretty gross looking with stains all over. We kept our shoes on at all times. We went with a large group of people and many of them had rooms/suites in the tower were the rooms started with the numbers 3000. From what I saw their rooms were newer and overall much nicer. Next time I will request a room in that tower. Overall the package was a great deal as we were given a bracelet to wear for the days we stayed which allowed us free rail drinks. We also received vouchers for 2 dinners, 2 breakfasts, and 2 lunches as well as entrance into the water park. The free meals were from the fresh market buffet and there was always a lot to choose from at all meals and the food on a scale of 1 worst to 5 best I would give it a 4. Of course there things that tasted better than others but it was overall good. I would definitely go again but make sure I get a better room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dina R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your stay. The Great Escape package is a wonderful value for a midweek getaway.
We look forward to seeing you again soon and will keep you updated on our upcoing promotions.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for the first time this past weekend. Pros- the condo rooms were real nice, we had a lot of space for our four kids to roam around. Unfortunately, that's about all of the pros.
Cons- a little too far away from the attractions, I know it's winter and everything is closed, but I would not stay here in the summer. The waterpark was ok not great. I have stayed at a few other resorts in the area with much better water parks. The prices for food were outrageous. Room service for 2 was damn near $50.
My advice would be to stay at either great wolf or kalahari. Both if those have their advantages, but that's on another review.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
GWillKirst,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedbback on your recent visit and we do take your comments seriously. In our food and beverage offerings we look to offer a range of options from our waterpark outlets, Moe's, Market Fresh and KBC.
I do hope that we may be able to have an opportunity to serve you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our 3rd or 4th time at the Chula Vista resort. We haven't been in a long time, possibly more than 6 years, and are not planning on going back. We rented a 3 bedroom for a large group of adults and children. The room was very clean upon arrival, but they never cleaned the whole time we were there. These were condos that we stayed in so I do understand not cleaning our rooms, however there was nothing in the room to clean up after ourselves. They had no brooms, vacuum, dusters, anything! Every condo arrangement we have ever been to provides cleaning materials. The plates and glassware were in short supply also. The fully stocked kitchen didn't come very stocked. We had no oven mitts for the oven and the list of "didn't haves" keeps going. I called down to the front desk to get a wine key and some wine glasses sent up. When the woman came up with wine glasses I was told, "there should be a wine key in the room". After she saw that indeed no wine was key present, she willing to go and get me one. Everything in the room was plastic (plates/glasses) nothing was high end at all. It was so much nicer and well equipped when it first opened up. I went down to the front desk to ask for a vacuum, broom or anything to clean up with and never got it. I asked for over mitts and never got any. I informed the front desk of a broken chair in our room and they did fix that. All in all, the room was completely subpar! The water park was fun and clean. The kids had a very nice time there. It seemed to be well staffed and enough action for kids under the age of 12yrs. Our best experience was the restaurant, Kamiski Brothers. I would go there again for sure, however we'd be driving back to another resort after the night was over. The food was fantastic and the service was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Kazof6,

Your comments and feedback on your recent stay is most appreciated, I am glad to see you were able to experience KBC.
We do offer daily cleaning of the condos as an option for reference for a future visit.
Thank you for being with us and we hope to see you again.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This resort looks like they have not done anything to it since it opened. Rooms in the tower are as basic as a Motel 6 and not too clean. My kid spilled water on the carpet and when I went to dab it up with a white wash cloth the dirt that was picked up was black.

If you decide to stay, reconfirm your reservation in advance as we were one of at least 3 where our reservation was switched to a smaller room.

Don't make plans to eat at the Kaminsky Bros Steak House. Their prices are more than a Morton's or Gibson's and the value just wasn't there. Wait staff was a bit snooty and the service wasn't worth it.

Wat

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to stay in one of the condos unless you like paying $200 for a Motel 6 room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Jetwrldtrvlr,

Thank you for being with us on your recent getaway, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. We will be upgrading our Tower Rooms this spring so I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity in the future.
We will be sure to keep you updated on our progress.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The resort goes to such lengths to extract money from guests and skimp on costs that I constantly felt I was being taken advantage of.

There were dozens of these little inequitable transactions: a $25 cancellation ("processing") fee even if you cancel months in advance, the shampoo dispensers in the shower instead of complementary bottles, the overpriced food, the lack of adequate parking, etc.

One experience exemplified the problem more than any other for me. I bought coffee from the Market Fresh restaurant -- they proudly 'feature' Starbucks coffee. I paid nearly $4 for a venti coffee that costs me $2 at an actual Starbucks. I then moved to the condiment station and found it was not stocked with the supplies one would expect with a premium coffee experience. There was no sugar in the raw, no wooden stir sticks, no flavor toppings. There were no carafes of whole milk, skim milk or half-and-half. Instead it had only those little thimble cups of artificial creamer with the peel back lid and sugar packets.

And that's the story with the Chula Vista. They'll gladly charge you for a premium experience, but they can't quite bring themselves to deliver it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went to Chula for a little reunion with college friends and our families and stayed in a couple of two-bedroom condos. It was the perfect spot. The rooms are huge. There is so much gathering space, the kitchens are large enough to actually cook in and the private bedrooms are nice, so the adults could stay up after the kids went to bed. Our kids are all under 5 and all loved the water park. The air and water temperature was comfortable and that allowed us to spend more time in the water park. Thanks Chula for a weekend of great memories!

Room Tip: Two bedrooms condos were so large. Living areas are huge and plenty of space for two families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Courtney N.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback on your recent stay, we appreciate you being back with us.
Glad to see the condos were such a hit for your outing and that the kids enjoyed the waterpark so much.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.