We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Better and better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was here two times and i can say, that the make changes from year to year for the better of course - new buildings, new attractions. It'e very familly place, lot of kids running and having a lot of fun, but there are some places where kids dont visit, where you can relax :)
Service is ok, everybody is very helpful and nice. Service room is ok, rooms are clean everyday.
I reccomend this place as a resort for family holidays, aspecially durring summertime, cause Wis Dells is a fun town with a lot of attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Andre S.,

Thank you for providing the wonderful feedback on your stay this summer, it is most appreciated.
We hope that we may hve the opportunity to be of service to you nad your family again in the future. Have a wonderful holiday and safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    430
    281
    225
    181
See reviews for
857
126
5
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

BYWe will never go back there again put it that way. Our service was very poor. The staffing was terrible. We ate breakfast at Market Fresh Buffet. Tripled our bill and wouldn't take it off so we had to pay it. We had a bugget and that was almost $100 that we couldnt spend doing something fun with our 4 kids that never got to go down a single water slide the whole entire 4 days we were there. Unbeilevable. And the lifegaurds were more worried about cute guys or girls what is up with teens. It was well over an hour and a half before somebody helped us at the front desk. And when they finally did they said our room wasnt ready and this was well past 5:00 they said they would text us when it was ready yah really your going to text.us because we got the text at 9:30 while we are sleeping at a different hotel were we found somebody with the same situation wow is all I have to that. The room....let's see o yah that was terrible as well. The beds were rock hard. The dishwasher was as old as old and stunk. The fridge had mold along with the bed boards and couch legs. The service again there was terrible and u had to pay to get your beds made. Wisconsin Dells was awesome. ALL EXCEPT CHULA VISTA. NOT PLEASED WHAT SO EVERY DONT GO THERE.

SORRY MANAGEMENT......
BUT IT WAS ONE OF THE WORST EXPERIENCE EVER!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
MaceyBenankidsx4,

I am sorry that you and your family had issues during your stay in August. I would hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future for we have made significant changes since your stay last summer.
Enjoy your holiday season and we will keep you updated on our progress.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg,Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We had plans to with friends at theKaminski Bros. Chop House last Saturday. We had heard both goodandbad about the resort. As it got late, we decided to stay. We stayed in a "southen plantation " themed Jacuzzi suite. The room fixtures were outdated, but everything was clean. The matress was excellent and the jacuzzi worked great. We used it twice during our one night stay. In the morning, we enjoyed the Market Fresh Buffet. There was a fairly good selection, but could have had more fresh fruit. The room price and buffet cost were a little high, but given this is WI Dells, they were competitive. We would stay again, but would look into the condos.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
WisJamericans,

We appreciated you taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit. Glad to see you had a great experience in Kaminski Brothers Chophouse as so many do.
I do hope that you may be able to visit us again soon for an overnight or dinner. Have a great holiday season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Chula Vista Resort can claim to be on the river, and they can claim to have "river view" rooms, but the trees and distance to the river leave one wondering how they can get away with such claim.

The rooms are very nice, spacious and a good value, especially if you want a mega-resort complex including waterpark theme and activities for kids, but it was not the sort of pleasant get away by the river I had hoped for. Several times I found myself lost in the complex, just because I'd wanted to take stairs instead of an elevator, and one evening trying to head off for dinner I ended up in a distant building, far from my parking lot. There are a lot of rooms, and extensive conference center, no retreat in the woods.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
RobinB,

We appreciate you being with us on your recent journey to the Wisconsin Dells, I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations.
I do hope that you may be able to give us another opportunity to be of service in the near future.
Have a good holiday and safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at Chula Vista Resort in October for a wedding reception. It was a great time. We did not visit the indoor water park, but made use of other options such as food and beverage. The food was great (try the breakfast buffet). Our room was well appointed and very nice. We will stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room had a balcony overlooking the river. The weather was perfect for enjoying the quiet and be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Professor Holland,

Thank you so much for being with us on your recent trip to the Dells. It was nice to see tht you had such a great time in October.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have been in "the club" for a little while now and it is nothing but a scam!!! If you at all are thinking about joining please don't sign anything until you have a lawyer look it over. They made all kinds of promises that they do not keep. The hotel it's self is very nice place and we have always had a good time staying there but please I can not stress enough not to get suckered into "the club" because you will be very disapointed.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the river are very nice and you have an awsome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The resort was clean and family friendly. We are a family of six and booked a junior suite that includes two queen size beds and a pull out sofa. The room also has a microwave and fridge. The kids loved the indoor water park.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Oliva C,

Great to have you with us on your recent journey to the Wisconsin Dells and thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay.
We look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.