We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices from these 7 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My family of six plus two tag-a-long kids stayed at the Chula Vista Resort in the Wisconsin Dells for an 8th grade football tounament Nov 2-4, 2012. The resort was hosting the event, so we decided to stay where my son could be close to his friends. I read up on the past reviews for this resort and prepared myself. I was pleasantly surprised by the excellent customer service. Whether in person at the front desk, coffee shop, sports bar, or on the phone with guest services, I encountered friendly staff, more than willing to cater to whatever I needed.
We chose a "family villa suite" on the golf course. We did not mind that the villas were across the street from the main hotel. It was an easy walk to the waterpark building during good weather and the shuttle was quick and convenient when we didn't feel like a hike. The water park was small for Dells standards, but my kids had enought to keep them occupied for 2 days. I LOVED the giant outdoor hot tub behind the hotel, overlooking the river. It is a quiet and hidden gem. Bring your own cooler and snacks and stay a while - the outdoor bar service was not open in November. Another insider secret: there is also a second small outdoor hot tub right at the villas, that is only open at night for limited hours.
Our room was huge and well appointed with updated finishes and comfortable sleeping room for eight. I especially appreciated the kitchenette and the private king bedroom attached to the main suite. The price was 40% less than other big name Dells resorts' rooms of similar size - so I think it was a real value, and only 5 minutes drive to downtown Dells.
There is only one reason I could not give it a five circle/excellent rating. The patio doors had a lady bug and box-elder beetle problem. The lady bugs and beetles kept trying to come in the room and they were succeeding, even with the patio doors closed and locked. I didn't mind the lady bugs and neither did my football players, but my young daughter was creeped out by "bugs" in the room. I reported the issue to guest services and they came to spray the patio and ou room immediately and they were gracious when I asked for financial compensation for the inconvenience. What more could I ask for?
We ate at two of the resort venues: sports bar pizza was excellent; the buffet breakfast was expensive and nothing special.
Would I stay again? Maybe for a quick work conference or weekend adult getaway. But my kids would rather stay at the Wilderxxxx, where they can run between 3 indoor waterparks instead of just one at the ChulaVista.

Room Tip: Stay in the 2 BR condo suite or the family villa suite. Villa suites in building one are closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
GBpedsRN4life,

Thank you for the kind words regarding our team members it is most appreciated. I am glad to see that the villa accommodatiosn worked out well for you and your family.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    426
    281
    220
    182
See reviews for
853
124
5
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Chula Vista Resort numerous times over the years and have always been quite pleased. We usually stay in the main hotel which is beautiful in the lobby but the rooms are a bit dated. This last stay, we stayed in the golf villas which were very nice and updated so we were very pleased. We really enjoy the all inclusive specials they have and our kids really enjoy the indoor water park. The only improvement that they could make to make it a top notch resort is to redecorate the main hotel as it has the same bedspreads that it had 20 years ago when we visited here for the first time and they need to upgrade their towels. Their towels are extremely low budget, small, thin and rough like sandpaper. Other than these two items (the decor in the rooms and the towel quality) I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Loveto Travel7066,

Thank you so much for being with us again and being so loyal to Chula Vista, it is very much appreciated. The feedback you provided is most helpful and we do use these for our future planning.
We are in the process of reveiwing our options for the hotel rooms and will keep you updated on our progress.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have gone to the Chula Vista with our family and just as a couple. It never disappoints. The views over the bluffs and down to the river are absolutely beautiful, especially in the fall. The buffet is excellent for adults and children. And the rooms are spacious, clean and fresh. We really enjoy our time there and if you can get the "all inclusive" deal...it's a real winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Antwo5,

Glad to see you had such a great time on your recent visit and thank you for being with us. Our team members appreciate your comments and feedback.
We hope to see you again soon and we will keep you updated on our specials for the coming season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The hotel and rooms were very pleasent, nicely kept and clean. The sports bar food and drinks were good and wait staff were friendly and nice. We generally were very happy with our stay up until we got our bill. On the bill there was a $4.00 charge for "Green Initiative" which when questioned about this, we were told that "this is a fee to help the hotel to 'go green' to help them purchase new light bulbs, etc to become more energy efficiant." Not sure why this is my responsiblity??? Then there is the issue of the resort fee - which was $19.90. I realize a good majority of hotels are now charging these fees to use the pools,waterparks, etc, but when asked about this fee, I was told it was for the shuttle bus and parking. REALLY?? Bottom line - just am not happy with the extra fees that were assessed to us. When you plan on spending a certain amount for a hotel stay, that should be the amount you are charged.. We also were hounded to attend a presentation on their timeshares after we had told them NO several times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Denise D,

Thank you so much for being with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments do help us in future planning as we move forward.
I do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future, we look forward to being of service.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in unit # 2423 and it was excellent. Beautiful decor, kitchen with granite countertops, big whirlpool in the living room, lots of room. Loved the 2 fireplaces on the cold days when we were there. It was right on the river and had a great view of the trees and some visibility of the river. It was nice that it was a little out of town. It was more relaxing and only a 3 - 4 minute drive to the Dells.

They had tons of activities for Halloween - trick or treating, hay rides, s'mores, and a fun dance / costume contest. This is a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Unit 2423 that we stayed in was excellent, right on the river, 2 bedrooms with lots of room, and ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Tina Bo36,

It was great to see that you and your family had such a memorable stay with us. The Halloween activites are always popular. We look forward to being of service to you and your family again in the very near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Room was nice, but our relaxing evening was ruined by the sales staff hounding us to attend a presentation on their timeshares. I told the gentleman who took our reservation that we were NOT interested. That should have been enough. Beds were okay, but the pillows were horrible. The 10:30 checkout time was ridiculous. Especially when they were not at all busy. The gentleman who took our reservation neglected to share that little detail.

The hallway needed a good cleaning. There was small pieces of litter all the way down the hall. Very disappointing considering we passed two maids who walked right by without picking anything up.

Had breakfast at the buffet restaurant in the morning. Won't eat there again. Not much of a selection. The eggs were cold, and the french toast was hard as a rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Tammy K,

I am happy to see we had the opportunity to serve you and for you being with us,but I apologize we did not deliver the expected experience.
Thank you for providing your feedback for this is helpful to our managers. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Overall we just had an average stay. We stayed in a studio condo room and it was a pretty nice room other than the furniture needs some major updating. The beds were horrible and sunken in..my back still hurts from them. The room also had a weird smell to it that I can't describe. I would also recommend asking that your room is close to the waterpark and restaurants. Our room was literally across the entire resort from all activities. At one point we even drove down to the other side of the resort just so we didn't have to walk a mile to eat. We didn't use the water park as it was geared more for kids. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I knew they did some remodeling.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
MDS0508,

We appreciate you beig with us on your recent visit to the Dells. I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing options on our accommodations and we will be sure to keep you updated on our progress. Have safe future travels and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.