We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our Dells favorites” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 75 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“One of our Dells favorites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Chula Vista Resort numerous times over the years and have always been quite pleased. We usually stay in the main hotel which is beautiful in the lobby but the rooms are a bit dated. This last stay, we stayed in the golf villas which were very nice and updated so we were very pleased. We really enjoy the all inclusive specials they have and our kids really enjoy the indoor water park. The only improvement that they could make to make it a top notch resort is to redecorate the main hotel as it has the same bedspreads that it had 20 years ago when we visited here for the first time and they need to upgrade their towels. Their towels are extremely low budget, small, thin and rough like sandpaper. Other than these two items (the decor in the rooms and the towel quality) I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Loveto Travel7066,

Thank you so much for being with us again and being so loyal to Chula Vista, it is very much appreciated. The feedback you provided is most helpful and we do use these for our future planning.
We are in the process of reveiwing our options for the hotel rooms and will keep you updated on our progress.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, have safe travels.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    384
    240
    193
    161
See reviews for
762
113
5
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockton, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have gone to the Chula Vista with our family and just as a couple. It never disappoints. The views over the bluffs and down to the river are absolutely beautiful, especially in the fall. The buffet is excellent for adults and children. And the rooms are spacious, clean and fresh. We really enjoy our time there and if you can get the "all inclusive" deal...it's a real winner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Antwo5,

Glad to see you had such a great time on your recent visit and thank you for being with us. Our team members appreciate your comments and feedback.
We hope to see you again soon and we will keep you updated on our specials for the coming season.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We recently stayed at Chula Vista Resort in Wisconsin Dells, WI. The hotel and rooms were very pleasent, nicely kept and clean. The sports bar food and drinks were good and wait staff were friendly and nice. We generally were very happy with our stay up until we got our bill. On the bill there was a $4.00 charge for "Green Initiative" which when questioned about this, we were told that "this is a fee to help the hotel to 'go green' to help them purchase new light bulbs, etc to become more energy efficiant." Not sure why this is my responsiblity??? Then there is the issue of the resort fee - which was $19.90. I realize a good majority of hotels are now charging these fees to use the pools,waterparks, etc, but when asked about this fee, I was told it was for the shuttle bus and parking. REALLY?? Bottom line - just am not happy with the extra fees that were assessed to us. When you plan on spending a certain amount for a hotel stay, that should be the amount you are charged.. We also were hounded to attend a presentation on their timeshares after we had told them NO several times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Denise D,

Thank you so much for being with us and for taking the time to provide feedback. Your comments do help us in future planning as we move forward.
I do hope that you will visit us again sometime in the future, we look forward to being of service.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in unit # 2423 and it was excellent. Beautiful decor, kitchen with granite countertops, big whirlpool in the living room, lots of room. Loved the 2 fireplaces on the cold days when we were there. It was right on the river and had a great view of the trees and some visibility of the river. It was nice that it was a little out of town. It was more relaxing and only a 3 - 4 minute drive to the Dells.

They had tons of activities for Halloween - trick or treating, hay rides, s'mores, and a fun dance / costume contest. This is a great resort. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Unit 2423 that we stayed in was excellent, right on the river, 2 bedrooms with lots of room, and ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Tina Bo36,

It was great to see that you and your family had such a memorable stay with us. The Halloween activites are always popular. We look forward to being of service to you and your family again in the very near future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Room was nice, but our relaxing evening was ruined by the sales staff hounding us to attend a presentation on their timeshares. I told the gentleman who took our reservation that we were NOT interested. That should have been enough. Beds were okay, but the pillows were horrible. The 10:30 checkout time was ridiculous. Especially when they were not at all busy. The gentleman who took our reservation neglected to share that little detail.

The hallway needed a good cleaning. There was small pieces of litter all the way down the hall. Very disappointing considering we passed two maids who walked right by without picking anything up.

Had breakfast at the buffet restaurant in the morning. Won't eat there again. Not much of a selection. The eggs were cold, and the french toast was hard as a rock.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Tammy K,

I am happy to see we had the opportunity to serve you and for you being with us,but I apologize we did not deliver the expected experience.
Thank you for providing your feedback for this is helpful to our managers. We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Overall we just had an average stay. We stayed in a studio condo room and it was a pretty nice room other than the furniture needs some major updating. The beds were horrible and sunken in..my back still hurts from them. The room also had a weird smell to it that I can't describe. I would also recommend asking that your room is close to the waterpark and restaurants. Our room was literally across the entire resort from all activities. At one point we even drove down to the other side of the resort just so we didn't have to walk a mile to eat. We didn't use the water park as it was geared more for kids. I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I knew they did some remodeling.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
MDS0508,

We appreciate you beig with us on your recent visit to the Dells. I am sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. We are in the process of reviewing options on our accommodations and we will be sure to keep you updated on our progress. Have safe future travels and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Presidential Suite on October 17th and 18th. We got an excellent deal for only $74.19 a night. The hotel is very nice however the rooms really need to be updated. It rained the day before we got there and for the entire two days we were there. I realized this is a lot of rain however we were on the top floor and the ceiling had a leak. Also the fireplace orfaces needed a good cleaning. The flame was so low you could barely see it. It did have 3 TV's but these were also very old.
All in all we did get what we paid for, however I would never stay here if I had to pay full price!

Room Tip: Be sure if we stay during the winter months that you are in a room that is attached to the water par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan H, General Manager at Chula Vista Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Tina N,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide us feedback it is useful to our planning and managers.
I am glad you had an enjoyable time with us and we will keep you updated on the progress of our accommodations.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,

Dan Hoppe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme
Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.