We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One Day Family Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great One Day Family Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Spent less than 24 hours here and thought the room rate was a great deal. Linked it with skiing at Cascade Mountain, included in the room and just a great 24 hour trip. Waterpark was actually pretty nice, not as big as the top tier, but manageable, fun and clean. Lines for slides were not long and that always helps. Room was fine...nothing to complain about. On site coffee shop was good, reception okay. Dinner at golf clubhouse was mediocre.

Room Tip: if you ski and have kids who ski, look for the ski package at Cascade, where kids ski free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    460
    295
    244
    189
See reviews for
889
137
5
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hurley, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My wife and I wanted to take our kids to a water for a February vacation. We chose the Chula Vista because a relative recommended it, this was not a good idea. First, when we drove in there are three huge buildings and all of them say Registration, needless to say we had to go to all three to find one for the motel. The place is very poorly marked and we had kids that had been in the car for 8 hours...

Next, when I made the reservation, I asked for a room as close to the water park as possible because we have a two and four year old. When we checked in we found that there are no rooms close to water park because it is in its own building. The water park is a separate building from everything else...

After checking in and trying to carry all of our stuff to the water park (approximately 350 yards or more from our room), I was ready for a cold one. When we looked over to the bar, it was closed and we found out it is almost never open. They never mentioned this on the web site.

After we finally got the kids playing it was 7:00 PM. We next found it closed at 8:00 PM. This was very sad for our kids. We managed to get them out of the water park and they were very unhappy. We then took them to our room and got them ready for dinner.

For dinner, we met our family at the buffet to share a nice meal. When we got there, we were told that it closed at nine. Not a bid deal but logistically foolish for the management. We still sent to eat and the minute we sat down, they started tearing down the buffet. A family member complained any they stopped. All of could tell that the staff just wanted to get out of there...

After dinner, we then found out that we were being charged $24/plate for an extremely average buffet. We also had one 10 year old, one 15 year old, and one 75 year old and no discounts... This was extremely disappointing to us.

The final shot to us was when we were told that we had to be out of our room at 10:30 AM and the water park did not open until 10:00 AM. Our kids were up at 7:00 AM and they had nothing to do for three hours. I wonder what sort of childless manager came up with these sort of hours?

I could go on and on but we will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platteville, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We have stayed at the Chula Vista often.For the last 5 years we have also taken advantage of the the touch down package. This year was the worst by far! more restrictions,higher prices,less items on menu,over booked.By far the worst experience we have had. I am sorry to write this but it is the truth. Sorry Chula Vista. You just lost a customer.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This was our first visit to this resort although we've been to Wisconsin Dells on many occasions. Check-in was fairly quick. We started out at the condo front desk and even though the clerk was able to view our reservation and start our paperwork, we still had to check-in at the hotel front desk to get our room key and wristbands. Since we arrived on a Monday, check-in was pretty quiet and only took a few minutes. We had a room overlooking the river in the older part of the hotel, but the room was spacious and quiet, and it appeared that the carpet and furnishing had been recently updated. It was an all-inclusive package that was advertised as including tap beers, rail drinks and the buffet. We were expecting a no-frills package for the price. We were surprised that the tap beers included microbrews and imports, plus wines, tropical drinks, and mixers. Gary, the bartender, was great and very helpful in explaining what was included. The buffet had a good variety and the food was fresh and plentiful. Our waitresses both nights were very friendly and attentive. The waterpark was also quiet with no waiting on the slides. They were open until 8pm, which was plenty late for us. The tiki bar was closed, but the adjacent grill had tropical drinks. This was a quick two day pre-holiday getaway for my husband and me, and definitely something we would do again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids,Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Ive been reading alot of the reviews and i do not understand some of them. Yes you can get a 45.00 dollar steak at Chula Vista but you have to eat at Kaminski Bros which you know ahead of time its a upper scale resturant. There are other resturants to eat for people on a buget. Theres always people complaining about everything. We have not had these problems and we had 3 different rooms. Over all great vacation spot.

Room Tip: A two or three bedroom seem to be the nicest with hot tub and fire place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the resort on a Friday and Saturday night. The resort was clean. Most employees were nice enough. I wouldnt say really happy to have us there. We had dinner to go from the bar area and it was very tasty. We had the buffet the next night and it was just okay. Nothing to brag about. The waterpark was nice on Friday but way to crowded on Saturday. It seems a lot of the parents were too busy drinking and socializing in their small groups to watch their own children. I saw many young children in the hot tub as well as roaming by themselves. That was very concerning to me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We've been coming to the Chula Vista since 2006 and purchased a Studio Villa there in 2007. Can I say the resort is perfect? Absolutely not. But what resort is? A major PLUS with the resort is the location. We prefer a location away from the crowds and "highway" where the other 2 major parks are located. The grounds are just beautiful!! Especially in the summer! A beautiful retreat. We love out Studio Villa. The heated shuttle comes and picks us up at the condo front door & takes us to the water park so theres no need for coats in the winter. We've NEVER waited more than 5 mins. There is a tunnel that also connects the water park to the other condo buildings. In the summer, we like the short walk across the green. We love our room as well!! Perfect for families and the resort is sooooooooo clean!

I only have a few cons: 1. The Market Fresh buffet is costly. They do allow kids to eat free Mon-Thurs with a paying adult but this should also be carried over on the weekends OR be extended to owners of units at the resort at all times. Paying over $40 for breakfast is INSANE, especially when you have small kids who don't eat much. Also, some of the wait staff in the restaurant need to have some training in friendliness. There were a few who were not very friendly and didn't seem like they wanted to be there. 2. There needs to be more staff at the tiki bar in the waterpark. We were there last weekend and on a busy Saturday afternoon they only had 2 guys working, and then 1 disappeared for quite a while since he had to go & restock the Coors beer. There were A LOT of people complaining about this. I think they should be more prepared on the weekends. The lady in front of me said she was waiting 15 mins for a drink. There were several people who just walked away without a drink complaining. Not good. A lot of business lost, not to mention unhappy patrons. There were receipts all over the counters, tips ( dollar bills) laying all over the place. I felt really bad for the 2 guys behind the bar. They were busting their butt & trying to go as fast as they could. Its not their fault. Just POOR POOR scheduling.

Overall, the PROS outweigh the cons. The CHULA VISTA is a good deal in comparison to the other water parks who charge a significant amount more of money for a weekend stay. The condo rooms, NOT hotel rooms, are BEAUTIFUL and a very nicely done! There are plenty of attentive lifeguards and they do their job well. They do an excellent job keeping the kids safe, even though some parents don't keep an eye on their kids. The lifeguard staff is GREAT! This is a great place to take families for the weekend!! A big shout out to Jon Nelson. He is WONDERFUL & he is always there to help out with any questions that I have!! Thanks Jon!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 620
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.