We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chula Vista Resort

Save Saved
You added Chula Vista Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chula Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So Much Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This resort will have you saying "Kalahari? What is that?" My family and I have been staying here everytime now we come to the dells. This place has so much to offer with an indoor water park with tons of slides and a water roller coaster and a snack bar. Also there's an outdoor park with some wild slides and pools. We stayed in the villa like rooms across the street which a shuttle is always accessible when you need to get across the street. They also have a golf course if you're into that. The staff is very friendly and the lifeguards are fun to joke around with. The location however is out of the way of everything else. You have to go downtown and turn on River Rd and it's a couple of miles out of the way but that adds to the reasons to stay because it's quiet. Overall two thumbs up for this hotel...clean rooms, friendly staff, etc etc!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    416
    261
    209
    171
See reviews for
823
121
5
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lorette
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We completely enjoyed our stay at Chula Vista. If it wasn't for the terrible check in/registration process I would go back without hesitation. After 30 years of going to various hotels I have never experienced such a bad process.
We had a two bedroom suite which included the waterpark passes. Value was simply very good. Meal options on site were good and we were able to provide simple meals in the suite as it had a fulling serviced kitchen. Accomodations were clean, in excellent shape and comfortable. We went with two families and it met virtually all our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

This was our 2nd time visiting the Dells, with the first time staying at the Wilderness. We had no problems at the Wilderness, but for the timeframe we were looking to visit, Wilderness was approx $100 more per night.

We arrived at 1pm and attempted to early check in (check in is at 4pm). The room was not ready, so we changed and visited the waterpark until check in. What has been repeated many times on this site, the check in process is long and frustrating. This is a very large resort, and many people are attempting to check in at this same time frame. My check in wait was approx 30 minutes.

We got to our room (Golf Course Villa). It was great. Standard hotel room with a full kitchen along a wall. The decor was amazing, stainless w/ granite counter tops. Everything was very clean and all kitchen utensils were provided.

The outdoor water park was a little bit lacking. The tower with the main slides was great, but other than that, there was not a lot to do on the outdoor park. The indoor park was great, plenty of things to do, open long hours. The lifeguards were all very professional and respectful. Our pro tip for the water parks was to go first thing in the morning, no lines and then had the rest of the day to do other Dells attractions.

Having only stayed in the Dells at the Wilderness in the past, my only concern for another traveler is that if comparing the two, Chula Vista may be an overall nicer resort, but we did start to get bored with just the 1 indoor water park (Where at Wilderness there are 3-4 to choose from). But keep in mind the indoor park is much larger and has more offerings than any single indoor park at Wilderness.

We would definitely go back to Chula Vista.

We did not partake in any of the eating establishments at Chula Vista.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Necedah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

The room we were assigned had an awful smell. The front desk was notified and staff tried several times to take care of the smell but nothing worked. Eventually we decided to leave and go home to get a good night sleep, we were leaving town in the morning.
A few days later when we contacted the manager we were told since we decided to leave they couldn't compensate us.
Due to this unfortunate experience we will not stay at this resort ever again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have stayed at water park resorts in the past, but Chula Vista so far was the best! The 2 bedroom condo was HUGE, more than enough room for my family of 5! I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone with a large family! The master bedroom had a large king bed and fireplace - and the second bedroom had two queen beds. In addition there was a hide-a-bed in the living room for extra guests. The water park was large enough were you didn't have to spend extra money going to a separate park. All and all, it was a great place to stay if your planning a trip to Dells!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Chula Vista is a great place to stay. Plenty for the kids to do and the spa is great for the adults. The food is very good. My kids love going to the Market Fresh Buffet for crab legs.
The staff are very friendly. We have stayed there 6 times.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

There were so many negative reviews of Chula Vista, that I wanted to write this.

We rented a 2 bedroom condo for 9 people - including children between ages 2 and 8 and it was spacious and had everything we needed! My only complaint is that the unit smelled like food and there was not a balcony. It actually had a jacuzzi in the living area!

The waterpark was just fine for the ages of our children, and it was great being able to go back and forth to our room for our youngest to nap, or just to get out of the sun a little. The indoor part did not reek of chlorine, like other indoor parks, and, according to the kids, had great slides. There were also life jackets available (although limited number), and towels provided - it just made it very easy.

We purchased the package that included the buffet breakfast, and that was just fine as well. Fresh fruit available, made to order omelettes, and all of the other standard fare.

Finally, the sweetest spot on the property is at the back of the building where the wave pool is. It is quiet, surrounded by pines and the river, with an excellent bar. A wonderful place to relax!

The other thing that made an impression on me was the attitudes of the staff. Everyone was friendly, normal, unlike many other resorts in more beachy places.

We thought it was just fine, even great, and we are usually pretty picky. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chula Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chula Vista Resort

Address: 2501 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chula Vista Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chula Vista Resort and Waterpark is a complete resort experience in Wisconsin Dells with over 200,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor waterparks. Luxury comes standard in all of our guest rooms, suites and condominiums. Bring your clubs and challenge yourself on our 18-hole golf course. At Chula Vista, we invite you to laugh harder, splash bigger, stay longer and vacation better at Wisconsin Dells' most complete family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Chula Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chula Vista Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Chula Vista Theme Hotel
Chula Vista Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Chula Vista Theme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chula Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.