We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, non waterpark hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
610 South Frontage Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9674   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #25 of 75 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Kenora, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Quiet, non waterpark hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I needed a inexpensive room for one night and chose the BW. The room was clean, the beds very comfortable and it had a good shower. The breakfast bar had cereal, bread, pastries, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and make your own waffles - no hot items. The outdoor pool was not open but looked like it would be a nice place to sit in the sun as it backed onto the trees. My only complaint was that the front desk staff were not willing to answer questions that I had about the attractions offered in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor room overlooking the outdoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    89
    57
    22
    15
See reviews for
117
56
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orting, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Nothing Spectacular just nice. Rooms were a bit dated but clean. The pool area was very nice. It included a Sauna and Hot Tub. Breakfast was a bit disappointing. It had no eggs or sausage just the standard waffle machine, some oranges, cereal, non-fat milk, yogurt and a small assortment of breads. I did have a donut or at least a bite of one. It was soggy like it had been defrosted. Overall though I would stay there again but I would eat breakfast at Denny's next door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Was looking for a place to stay that was not a resort and not as pricey as the resorts at the Dells.We needed an overnight stay while attending the Automotion car festival.
This place was great, payed $78.00 for a nights stay. The front desk was very helpful and friendly and gave us great advise on some of the things to do in the Dells.
Our room was great with a balcony over looking the pool and woods. Very clean and one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Also had a great free breakfast in the morning.
This place was one of the best hotels I have stayed in at that price, to me this place was as good as a $300.00 a night resort, just without the big waterparks.
Next year we will be back for Automotion and I will definitely make my reservations at this Best Western every year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, wi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here on a Tuesday - Friday in April. It was nice. It's close to the freeway and within walking distance to the downtown dells area. It's also right across from Paul Bunyans. The continental breakfast was good(waffles, english muffins, mini muffins, cereal, juice, milk, coffee, fruit), certainly enough to get you going. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The pool area seemed nice, we didn't go in. When we stayed we got free passes for Chula Vista, so we went there. Our room was big and had a fridge and a microwave, which was awesome for leftovers. The prizes in the game room were lacking, but I'm sure it's not aimed at adults. My only complaint would be the bed was a little harder than I'm used to. I'd stay again but try for a softer bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

When I called on the phone to make reservations, the lady helping me couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. She was great. We needed just an overnight stay. We arrived and were able to check in a couple hours early which was extremely helpful as our kids and I stayed at the hotel while my husband went to attend other business. We were pleasantly happy with the size of the room. We had a standard 2 queen bed room. There was nice sized floor space for one of my sons to sleep on the floor which he prefers and which isn't always the case in other places we have been at. This hotel also did not allow pets which is a BIG thing we look for when choosing a hotel. The pool is just average but our kids enjoyed it. We could get free passes to Chula Vista waterpark for staying at BW but we didn't have time to fit it in. At checkout, the gal helping me looked up our record and remembered me from calling in as I had to make a possible special request in case we weren't able to make the trip. Again, she was so pleasant!
Two negative things that we experienced: The room itself was clean but the bathroom was filthy! It was almost as if they forgot to clean it after the last one left! Hair all over the place. ICK. And I wish I would have had disinfectant wipes along as the light switch plate needed major attention. The re-caulking job in dark grey around the light colored toilet was tacky. And one of the floor tiles was very loose. Second, they do serve breakfast but it is a bit limited compared to our past hotel experiences. Waffles, donuts, yogurt, cereal. My son met us in the breakfast area a little later and he walks in and asked where are the eggs. He just assumed every hotel served them for breakfast. But it was enough to get us by. Also, the ladies working the breakfast area didn't make eye contact and didn't talk. It seemed a little strange.
Overall, we were in town a very short time so this place did the trick for us and we will likely stay here again when we are in town for the same purpose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The room was not ready when we checked in. When we decided to give up and go to dinner at 5:10 and when we returned at 6:30 the room was finally ready. They gave us $10 off the rate, but I am not sure that was the best way to deal with it. There was some sort of basketball tourney or something there and the place was packed. The pool area could not have been more full of people. The breakfast area was so crowded, it was easier to go next door to Denny's and pay for breakfast since the food was pretty scarce.

The front desk was not equipt to deal with all of the people that were there and with one more front desk person I think that the check in process could have been a whole lot easier for all of those people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
I am disappointed that your stay with us was not satisfactory. I will agree that our property was very busy during your stay with us. However, this does not excuse the fact that your room was not ready at 4:00 pm as promised. Your observations have aided us in locating areas of service needing improvement. Your comments will be passed on so we can learn from the mistakes mad that week.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us at the Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites the next time you are in Wisconsin Dells. Please call me personally at 1-800-828-6888 and I can assure you we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very disappointed in this hotel stay. The walls are paper thin, floor creeks, the rooms are not clean, breakfast wasn't nothing to brag about. If this was ONLY place left to stay in the Dells, we still would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Not across from the pool!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie H, Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We appreciate your time to complete your review with Trip Advisor. Thank you for sharing your experience and views of the Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites.

We are very sorry to learn that the hotel cleanliness and amenities did not meet your expectations. Please know that your comments have been shared with the Management team for their awareness.

Thank you for sharing your opinions of your overall stay with us. I hope that you will reconsider staying at Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites and we are looking forward to welcome you soon.

Warmest Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites

Also Known As:
Best Western Ambassador Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Best Western Ambassador Inn And Suites
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Best Western Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin Dells Best Western
Address: 610 South Frontage Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9674
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites, a 180 room contemporary hotel nestled in the heart of Wisconsin 's largest resort area, offers and idyllic getaway for business or pleasure. Our facility offers newly remodeled rooms, spacious two queen rooms, private Jacuzzi suites and family suites with kitchens. Other amenities include continental breakfast, indoor and outdoor heated pools, whirlpools, high speed Internet access, and in-room coffee, and our new Ticket Redemption Arcade. Our hotel is now completely non-smoking. From waterparks, golf courses, casinos, skiing and shopping, you will find an endless array of activities at your fingertips. With the best of the city just outside our doors, the Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites is one of the top choices for hotels in the area. Whether at work or play, you'll always feel at home at the Best Western Ambassador Inn & Suites. Hotel guests will be conveniently located less than one mile from Trapper's Turn Championship 18 hole Golf Course and four miles from Wisconsin Dells skiing at Christmas Mountain. Families especially will love the variety of water parks within a short distance from the hotel including Noah's Ark, America's largest water park, and Mt. Olympus Water and Theme Park. Guests will also enjoy taking a boat ride along the scenic Wisconsin River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.