We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and awesome pool set up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tunnel Trail Campground

Tunnel Trail Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tunnel Trail Campground
Save
You added Tunnel Trail Campground to your Saves list
4 mi. E. Hwy 71, Wilton, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
East Troy, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great location and awesome pool set up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We visited the Tunnel Trail Campground last week to take advantage of the Elroy / Sparta bike trail. The campground location is great and you can just ride out from your campsite and go either way for an enjoyable and easy bike ride to a tunnel on either side. My husband enjoyed the pool after our bike rides. The pool is their crowning glory, you can tell its well laid out and well kept. Lot's of different seating options and seemed many campers took advantage of it. As far as the grounds, we thought they could be kept up a little better. Its a beautiful setting but everything is overgrown with the wild pumpkin vines that are literally hiding some pine trees. Amish came in on Saturday to sell their baked goods. One very annoying issue was the barking howling dogs from the gun club across the street. Yipes! If we were to return to the area to ride the trail again, we would stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    3
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
minneapolis
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A group of friends stayed here to bike and explore the area and had a great time. At first, I admit I was a little put off by the price and a $2 per person daily guest fee. But after experience how nice the campgrounds are, I have to say it's worth it. They take very good care of this property. Everything is in excellent condition and the amenities were awesome! The trail is RIGHT THERE and very conveniently located (for more experienced riders) to access all the tunnels. The store is very well-stocked - even replaced my flat tire there! The owner is very hands-on and I saw her all over the place checking on things and interacting with guests. She also gave great recommendations - the Amish restaurant down the road was fabulous. Order the local food, don't go with the Italian options. The burgers, prime rib and fish fry were AMAZING - this coming from a Twin Cities foodie! The pool is in excellent condition and was a very welcome site after biking 27 miles.

There were only a couple downsides to this property. Thankfully, our group got the more private sites behind the showers near the cabins. We had a LOVELY view of a field with a big full moon and lots of fireflies. The main campground is pretty tight - no privacy with folks pretty much right on top of each other. Had we been down there in our tents, I would have been unhappy - it's camper city. And while we were likely the closest sites to the road, it was still worth having our own space with all tents. Also, the campsites are right along the road and you can only park on one side. It does make things a little tight, but is a nice barrier from the road dust.There wasn't much traffic there though, mostly folks staying in that part of the campground. There is poison ivy along the treeline, so beware.

Room Tip: Look at the map on their site and choose a spot away from the main campground for seclusion & qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the Tunnel Trail while biking the Elroy Sparta Trail. The campground is very nice, clean and family friendly. The employees in the office are very nice. They have a nice heated pool and mini-golf. We are tent campers and many of the tent sites are intermingled with campers which is kind of tight. The restrooms and showers are conveniently located and kept clean. Many campgrounds which we have stayed at, have been so noisy you can't sleep at night due to drunks and loud radios, but not this one. At 10:30 they request all radios off and its quiet time. That's very much appreciated by us and others, who came for peace and quiet. They only downside is , is that some campsites are close to the highway, so that could make it a little noisy. It's right on the trail and it's a 13 mile ride to the big tunnel. 26 miles round trip. If that's to long of a ride, I'd suggest you park in Wilton at the headquarters and in Norwalk and cut the ride short. 26 miles could be tough for the very young, very old or if its super hot out. The check-in also has trail passes and essentials which you may have forgotten, including snacks. All sites have water and electric. You will pay $5.00 per nite for electric whether you use it or not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windlake,wi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a great campground for a family. Great location near the bike trail. Clean bathrooms. Nice outside pool. We had site 36. It was located near the pool and bathrooms. Perfect location. There is a ton of kids in the pool and it was super loud with all of them screaming. If you don't like noise stay away from the pool area:) overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A great family place to get away from the hectic Chicago area lifestyle. We have been coming here for quite a few years, its extremely well kept, located right on the bike trail with tunnels in both directions. There is a beautiful clean adult pool and kids pool which are very refreshing to a tired bike rider.
Last summer when we had a fire pit accident, Scott, the owner, drove us to the hospital while his wife called ahead and had them ready for us when we arrived. Where in America do you get this kind of caring in 2012? We will always remember them as a pair of special friends.

Room Tip: Cabins look inviting but we always use our camper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roberts, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Whether it's spring, summer, or fall - nice and simple campsites.
Mini golf course on-site. Close to tunnels #1 and #2. Local Amish residence visit
the campground on occasion to sell homemade baked and canned goods. Camper
cabins available for rent for those who do not like to rough it in a tent. Flush toilets
and warm showers. Catch a dip in the in-ground pool after a long day in the
saddle on Wisconsin's first rails to trails conversion. Excellent fall colors and wildlife
sightings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here with several families on a camping trip in early June. First, be aware that even if you are tenting, you will be required to pay for electric even if you don't need it or want it (we weren't told that and had to pay the balance upon arrival even though we paid in full via deposit). The bathrooms on the lower end were terrible: Ice in the urinals instead of running water, and by the looks they haven't been updated since the early 80's. Also, be aware that they only have one camp fire grate for the entire campground. We asked about grates before sending a deposit and were told that they have plenty and there was no need to bring them. Finally, we inquired about bike rental before coming and were told they have lot's of bikes including tandems. Upon arrival, they had one tandem and it was out of service. We were forced to drive 25 miles to Sparta to rent bikes. On the plus side, the pool was very nice and clean and the location could not be beat; right on the tunnel trail.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tunnel Trail Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunnel Trail Campground

Address: 4 mi. E. Hwy 71, Wilton, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wilton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Wilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tunnel Trail Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.