We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; stresses quality over quantity.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Black Sheep

The Black Sheep
210 W. Whitewater St., Whitewater, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 38 Restaurants in Whitewater
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food; stresses quality over quantity.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently dined at this restaurant with other family members. Everyone raved about the quality of the food: the salmon plank was exquisitely prepared and presented in a very appealing manner. Others in the party had the pork; so good my sister-in-law wanted the recipe for how it was prepared. I was especially delighted to be offered an alternative of another vegetable when I declined the potato dish.

Service was a bit sporadic but to their credit, they apologized and stressed they were orienting new servers.

The decor was funky, but in a very sophisticated manner.

Be forewarned, this restaurant is not for anyone who likes their "food piled high." I certainly found the amount of food to be just to my liking, but another in our group thought they could have used a more ample serving.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitewater, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Go elsewhere if you're hungry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Ordered the Roasted Pulled Pork Crostini for lunch. Tasty but the meal was equivalent to two large crackers heaped with several ounces of pork, goat cheese, and trimmings. Thought it came with fries but none appeared and after seeing the small appetizer-sized "sandwich" I no longer cared. For 9.95, an absolute rip-off. If you want pulled pork, go to Randy's for four times the food for the same price!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Chicken pot pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My wife and I recently had lunch here. We had the chicken pot pie which had a very flaky top over a bowl of chicken, vegetable and gravy. A ver delicious and reasonably priced lunch. Jeff

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Troy, WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food - nice addition to Whitewater, WI”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Black Sheep is a new restaurant in Whitewater and my wife and I hope they can make a go of it. We ate there on a Friday night without reservations but were met quickly and cheerfully by the staff and were seated quickly. The philosophy of the restaurant's chef is to use as much local food, produce and beverages as possible, which we strongly support. The follow through to this idea was quite good.

The strong points of the restaurant are: good food, nice location across from a city park and lake, nice decorations, clean bathrooms and dining areas, friendly staff (hey, it's Wisconsin!). We did have some issues with the food: the lamb ravioli was tasty but the pasta was not fully cooked and tough; the salads were so so but since it's a bit early for fresh produce in our zone, this is understandable.

The negative points are just as Jarvis R stated: the wait staff are not well organized and trained and could be well served by having a dress code. We ordered drinks which came separately and only after a reminder. Same with bread and oil. The bartender needs training in mixed drinks.

All in all, we will certainly come back - there are many intriguing menu items and based on our experience, they will be worth trying. Whitewater needs more good restaurants like this and we hope The Black Sheep will do well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

What a delightful restaurant! My wife and I went there last night and both the food and service were outstanding. We enjoyed our wedge and spinach salads and then our entrees of pineapple salmon and pork loin both served with sides of polenta. The pork loin was served in a cranberry reduction sauce that was simply famtastic.Topped off a great meal experience by sharing a yummy apple cranberry bread pudding with ice cream and drizzled caramel.
You'd expect to find a great restaurant like this in a big city but Whitewater is fortunate to have it right in its quaint downtown...a real gem!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Black Sheep also viewed

 

Been to The Black Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Black Sheep, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.