We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing like a great fish fry!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Avenue Grille

North Avenue Grille
7225 W. North Ave., Wauwatosa, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Wauwatosa
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Nashville
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing like a great fish fry!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Was visiting Milwaukee recently and this restaurant was highly recommended by a "fish fry connoisseur". I was not disappointed. The batter on the fish was very fresh and crisp and the fish was nice and flakey. The homemade french fries were great. The portion of fish was very generous. A delicious marble rye bread is served along with the meal. Possibly the best marble rye I've ever tasted. The owner is friendly and is working hard to make his restaurant a success.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    9
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Love this menu - so fresh and lots of unique choices. Love the standard eggs, bacon and toast, but also love the avocado bacon quesadilla and absolutely love the waffles! Great Valentine coffee!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Burger comes to Tosa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a flavorful, perfectly cooked burger on a tasty bun. It looks delicious and it is. And are those fries...homemade? Finally a decent burger in Tosa to save me from the flavorless Chancery or Kopps or Roberts cardboard slab. The place was busy, couple tables outside, looks like they've got wine & beer. I'll definately be filling my burger urge here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The menu is a bit odd - seems to have many items with black beans, and Southwestern emphasis; the space is outdated, very uncomfortable booths; service was adequate; food was average - think they have some kinks to work out - as hasn't been open for very long.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Owners - much improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The restaurant has new owners and a whole new feel. The food was great when we went as well as the service. Our server made recommendations for breakfast and she was spot on!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Avenue Grille also viewed

 

Been to North Avenue Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Avenue Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.