We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelmed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Moose Inn

Moose Inn
W6846 State Road 21, Wautoma, WI 54982-7204
920-787-2241
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 22 restaurants in Wautoma
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Wautoma Wisconsin. Where the locals go (by the hundreds) for Friday night fish fry.
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We came here because it was highly recommended. We may have caught them on a bad night because we just couldn't see the appeal. The servers were stressed and the food was good but not great. We sampled steaks and salmon, good but nothing special.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    9
    6
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Unattentive staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The restaurant has a lot of charm, but the staff is disapointing. Went there for Friday fish and will not return. Took forever to get a drink at the bar. The hostess was rude. She never said hello she just grabbed the menus and walked to the dining room. We didn't know if we were supposed to follow or not. Waitress never said hello....only "are you ready to order"? We never got a second drink and the fish was just okay Very pricey for such poor service. Too bad because the atmosphere is quite nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wautoma, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotspot in Wautoma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Very good food, alot of specials. Very clean, the staff are always very friendly and know alot about the buisness. Always open. They do a great job with the catering part as well.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellant Friday fish fry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

A local place with a decent bar and decent atmosphere. Friday nights are really busy because the fish fry is so good. They have it down for fast service, but we didn't feel rushed. You tell them you want the fish fry when you put your name in, and when they seat you your dinner is there ready to go (and very good). The on tap beer is good, although a bit pricey for a Wisconsin bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenfield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

i have been to the moose for a few years all i can say it is not the same, their ribs were my favorite the chewy ones lately you get the wide spare rib we just had in nov, 2012 they were not good, my wife had a new york and it was tough and had a funny taste, the service is going down hill. we stopped going their for fish because it is to mushy and does not taste good, also this summer we had to send some fish back because it was not done it was ice cold then we waited for more, from our waitress, she would'nt come back to see if we would like another drink. we have went back this fall but nothing has changed.don't waste your money here it's not like it use to be

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moose Inn also viewed

 

Been to Moose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moose Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.