We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Mezcal

El Mezcal
3100 Rib Mountain Dr, Wausau, WI 54401-7490
715-845-9100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 132 restaurants in Wausau
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Rhinelander, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Mexican food seems to always be bland in the northwoods, there is a reason we travel south for it. I must say the talent of the servers and the wait staff are great. The hostess is one the rudest gals I have ever seen in the resturant business - for serving people. I give an A+ to the entire experience.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

65% Recommend
    16
    11
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Great Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The food is great the the price is even better. Also you can ask for the heat level your want and customize any order.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not bad. Service could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

Typical Mexican food place. Really good prices.
The server we had seemed uninterested in us being there or not. Just kind of phoning it in.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigo, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“bad sevice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Was only in there once with my daugher. I'm 50 she's 29)We had gone shopping and wanted to stop for some Mexican food and had heard that this place was pretty good. Took us aobut 10 minutes to get seated. Once seated we waited about 15 minutes for someone to notice us and get us a glass of water. After another 10 minutes and not one single person even said boo to us, we got up and left.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Fairly average menu for a place like this. Quality of location/cleanliness left a bit to be desired.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Mezcal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Mezcal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.