We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WCMA Conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jefferson Street Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Jefferson Street Inn to your Saves list
Jefferson Street Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Jefferson St., Wausau, WI 54403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Wausau
Sparta, Wisconsin
1 review
“WCMA Conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Everything was excellent except that the heating unit did not work in the room so I was very cold the entire stay. Staff did advised me as to how to adjust the temp but it never did improve. I finally gave up - then the last night at 4 am the heat suddenly ramped up to 80 degrees and I woke up melting!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    116
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
107
98
12
149
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I love staying at this hotel when I come to Wausau for work. Not only is it very close to my office, the staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. They were able to recommend an excellent restaraunt when almost everything else around was closed.
Quite honestly, my biggest gripe is that of all the pillows on the beds, I can't usually seem to find the perfect pillow. But that, by no means, will keep me from staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel to be very nice and the location was great. We were able to walk to restaurants. Pool was on the smaller side but worked perfectly. Breakfast was equal to that of a budget hotel that offers it for free. Save your 6 dollars a person and go to Eagles Nest or another good local restaurant. Our biggest complaint was that this is a pet friendly hotel. We first realized this was pet friendly when I sat on the couch and was covered in white dog hair. It wouldn't have been much of a problem except one of our children has severe pet allergies. After two nights of staying here, we have a very sick child. We learned our lesson to always ask before making reservations about pet friendly rooms. If they have rooms or a floor that is not pet friendly we would stay here again. Otherwise, this won't be an option for future trips to Wausau.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was a very nice hotel for a ski trip especially when your spouse does not ski. The free shuttle allowed her to have the car if she needed it and the enclosed walkway to the mall meant she did not have to go outside in the the cold. Internet was free and very reliable--not many full service hotels provide free internet--it was a nice and needed service. The free continental breakfast was fine for our needs as we are cereal people in anyway. But they also had fresh fruit and a variety of juices to choose from besides orange juice. The attached restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suamico, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is very nice, VERY clean, and pretty quiet. The pool room hours are long, and the continental breakfast is delicious. We will stay again, even if we don't need to visit Wausau for any reason.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosinee
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for our 5th wedding anniversary. Everything was very top notch and very quiet. I can see why the business people would like it. All of the little extras are there. It was the most I have ever paid for a jaccuzzi suite but I did get my money's worth. I will probably wait and do it for my tenth anniversary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We were extremely pleased with our stay at Jefferson Street Inn. The location downtown was the best. We were able to walk to restaurants and enjoy Wausau's wonderful downtown. It was nice not to have to get into our car and drive once it was parked in convenient parking structure, connected to hotel by indoor skywalk ( very nice with winter weather). Hotel staff very pleasant, always had a smile. We had a standard room which was spacious,comfortable chairs.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsi-6500, General Manager at Jefferson Street Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Lori.

We are thrilled that you had a great experience at The Jefferson Street Inn; we are all committed to meeting and exceeding our guest’s expectations. We look forward to your return visit!

Thank you, Debbie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jefferson Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jefferson Street Inn

Address: 201 Jefferson St., Wausau, WI 54403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wausau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Wausau
#2 Family Hotel in Wausau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jefferson Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Settle For Just Any Hotel? The Jefferson Street Inn is downtown Wausau's full service, luxury hotel featuring 100 suites and executive guest rooms. Pamper yourself in our warm, inviting surroundings. Unwind in your personal whirlpool bath, then slip into one of our cozy robes and relax on our pillow-top beds by the fireplace in your suite. Jefferson Street Inn is located in the heart of downtown Wausau, adjacent to the historic Washington Square shopping center. Jefferson Street Inn is a full service luxury hotel that offers sophisticated accommodations and suites, resort amenities, and impeccable customer service. At Jefferson Street Inn, you’ll enjoy a vacation in close proximity to Wisconsin attractions and activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jefferson Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jefferson Street Hotel Wausau
Jefferson Street Wausau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jefferson Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.